John A. Lindquist Award

Explanation of Award

The John A. Lindquist Award is given annually to a current Weber State University faculty or staff member who has demonstrated sustained and outstanding commitment to mentoring WSU students in learning through community engagement.  It recognizes university-community partnerships in support of students’ learning and honors John A. Lindquist’s devotion to education and community.

Learning through community engagement is a dynamic and collaborative process wherein students immerse themselves in situational problems of a social, economic or environmental nature.  They consider possible outcomes and create potential solutions that benefit communities.   As students apply their skills, knowledge and research to community issues, they in turn develop civic leadership.  Frequently, they are models of how an education can improve and sustain the well-being of individuals in their communities.


The recipient of the John A. Lindquist Award must demonstrate that she or he has provided an excellent education to WSU students and has addressed needs in surrounding communities.   

Describe the faculty or staff member’s accomplishments according to the following criteria:

  1. The nominee has demonstrated sustained (minimum of five years) and outstanding commitment to mentoring WSU students in learning through community engagement.
  2. The nominee’s Community Engaged Learning projects have made a demonstrable impact on both the student and the community. Actions taken are making a positive difference on the campus, in the community, regionally, and beyond.
  3. The nominee has succeeded in making a sustained, long-term commitment to campus and community service as well as evidence of consistent positive performance reviews.  
  4. The nominee has used sound pedagogy that combines research, theory, community action, self-reflection and assessment in planning learning objectives and community engagement activities for students. (This criterion is primarily applicable to faculty nominees.)
  5. The nominee’s projects involve a strong relationship with the community partner(s) based on a foundation of mutual ownership and commitment and address complex and important community issues.
  6. The nominee has been able to integrate community engagement with her or his own continued research and teaching.  Teaching may be through a mentoring relationship or in the classroom.  Preference will be given to those individuals who have shown evidence of embracing the institution’s commitment to community engaged learning through association with the Center for Community Engaged Learning.  

In summary, the committee will evaluate candidate packets against the following criteria:

  • Breadth of community engaged work geographically -- locally or internationally
  • Longevity in community engaged learning
  • Sustained and varied community partnerships 
  • Demonstrated impact on community members and organizations
  • Work with CCEL or other promotion of CEL among faculty and staff
  • Demonstrated impact on student learning and their relationship to a complex and diverse world 
  • Reflection on his/her own transformation as a faculty/staff member


$8,000 cash (less benefits and withholding taxes)

Responsibility of Recipient

The recipient of the John A. Lindquist Award will give a presentation to faculty, staff, and students regarding his/her work with WSU students and the community.  This presentation is expected to occur within a year of having received the award.  Additionally, the recipient must continue to be employed at WSU for a minimum of one year after receiving the award.

Nomination Process

Submit via email a 1-2 page letter of nomination that addresses the award criteria listed above to Dana Gibson ( no later than January 25, 2019.

If a nominee accepts the nomination, he or she will be responsible for submitting the following additional information to Dana Gibson ( by February 19, 2019:

  1. A cover letter (maximum 2 pages) addressing the award criteria and reflecting what community engagement means to the nominee
  2. A 2-3 page resume reflecting a community engagement focus
  3. Three 1 to 2-page letters of reference. One reference should be a community member with whom the nominee has partnered to mentor WSU students through community engaged learning.  One reference should be a student (current or former) who has personally benefited, or been involved with, the person being nominated. Students’ letters should include how community engagement enhanced their learning and reflection in meaningful ways. The final reference should be a colleague who is familiar with the work of the nominee.  

A selection committee consisting of two college representatives from Academic Affairs, the dean of students, provost, vice president for Student Affairs, Associate Provost for High Impact Programs, Executive Director of Student Affairs Strategic Initiatives, Student Association vice president for service, and two community partners will be appointed by the offices of Academic Affairs and Student Affairs.  A member of the Lindquist family, Kathryn Lindquist, will also serve on the committee.  The selection committee will review the nomination materials and select the award recipient.

Announcement & award criteria sent to university community Monday, January 7
Nomination deadline: Submit electronically to Dana Gibson Friday, January 25
Deadline to submit nomination support documentation Tuesday, February 19
Selection Committee begins review process February 19 - 25
Selection of recipient February 25 - March 8
Announce award recipient Monday, March 11

CCEL Recognition Event

Monday, April 8

About John A. Lindquist

Award Recipients

2020 Schedule

  • Announcement & award criteria sent to university community  
    Monday, January 8
  • Nomination deadline: Submit electronically to Dana Gibson
    Friday, January 26
  • Deadline to submit nomination support documentation
    Wednesday, February 21
  • Selection Committee begins review process
    February 22 - 27
  • Selection of recipient
    February 27 - March 9
  • Announce award recipient
    Monday, March 12
  • CCEL Recognition Event
    Wednesday, April 1