Engaged Learning Series: Matter of Fact

The Engaged Learning Series (ELS) is a university-wide series of events designed to engage students, faculty, staff, and community in discussion, debate, dialogue, learning, and action around an issue of public concern.

For 2017-2018, the series aims to raise awareness, impact personal behavior, and increase public engagement around the theme of "Matter of Fact?" #MatterOfFact

  • What is fact?
  • What is truth?
  • What is opinion?
  • What is myth?
  • What constitutes a reliable source?
  • Why does science/history matter?
  • Why does logic matter?
  • Can critical thinking be done right or wrong?
  • How do you articulate facts?

Throughout 2018-19, we will view "Matter of Fact?" through six prisms, culture, economics, education, health, politics, and environment. Please consider ways in which you might incorporate this theme into your teaching, planning, and discussions this year.

Events for 2018-19

Contact

Teresa Martinez
teresamartinez1@weber.edu
801-626-7737

2018-2019 Engaged Learning Series Committee

Theme: Matter of Fact?

Prism Name College/ Division/ Organization Email
Cultural Adrienne Andrews Administration - Office of the President adrienneandrews@weber.edu
Isabel Asensio Faculty - Lindquist College of Arts and Humanitieties isabelasensio@weber.edu

Ernesto Hernandez, Jr. 

Library (Academic Affairs) ernestohernandez@weber.edu
Becky Jo Gesteland Faculty - Lindquist College of Arts and Humanitieties bgesteland@weber.edu
Sheree Josephson Faculty - Lindquist College of Arts and Humanities sjosephson@weber.edu
Economical

Mike Vaughan

Faculty - College of Business and Economics mvaughan@weber.edu
Diana Meiser Faculty - EAST dmeiser@weber.edu
  Matt Paulson Faculty - EAST mattpaulson@weber.edu
Education Melina Alexander Faculty - College of Education - Teacher Education & WGS melinaalexander@weber.edu

Shirley Dawson

Faculty - College of Education - Teacher Education shirleydawson@weber.edu
Sarah Herrmann Faculty - College of Social and Behavioral Sciences sarahherrmann@weber.edu
Stephanie Speicher Faculty - College of Education - Teacher Education & WGS stephaniespeicher@weber.edu
Environment

Alice Mulder 

Faculty - College of Soc. & Behavioral Sciences - Geography amulder@weber.edu

Dan Bedford 

Faculty - College of Soc. & Behavioral Sciences - Geography & Honors dbedford@weber.edu
John Cavitt Faculty - College of Science - Zoology jcavitt@weber.edu
Therese Grijalva Faculty - Goddard School of Business and Economics - Economics tgrijalva@weber.edu
Jamie Brass Staff - Student Affairs - Counseling & Psychological Services jamiebrass@weber.edu
Gary Johnson Faculty - College of Social and Behavioral Sciences garyjohnson@weber.edu
Health

 

 

Janelle Gardiner 

Faculty - College of Health Professions - RT jgardiner@weber.edu

 Spencer Petersen

Faculty - EAST spencerpetersen2@weber.edu

Brian Cottle

Faculty - College of Health Professions briancottle@weber.edu
Maya Rimington Student  
Rochelle Creager Staff - Student Affairs rochellecreager@weber.edu
Jeanette Harris  Faculty - College of Health Professions - Nursing jeanetteharris@weber.edu
Brittany Parry Student brittanyparry@weber.edu
Heather Merkley Faculty - College of Health Professions hmerkley@weber.edu
Political

Barrett Bonella

Faculty - College of Soc. & Behavioral Sciences - Social Work barrettbonella@weber.edu

Michelle Jackson

Community - Davis County Elections mjackson@co.davis.ut.us

Richard Price

Faculty - College of Social and Behavioral Sciences richardprice@weber.edu
Other Chair: Teresa Martinez Student Affairs - CCEL teresamartinez1@weber.edu
Dani McKean Staff - Student Affairs Marketing daniellemckean@weber.edu

Amy Hajdas

Staff - WSU Marketing & Communications amyhajdas@weber.edu

Brittany Wright

Student - ELS Graphic Design Intern brittanywright@weber.edu

Previous Topics