Engaged Learning Series: Civility

The Engaged Learning Series (ELS) is a university-wide series of events designed to engage students, faculty, staff, and community in discussion, debate, dialogue, learning, and action around an issue of public concern. For 2017-2018, the series aims to raise awareness, impact personal behavior, and increase public engagement around the issue of "civility."

  • What does civility mean to you?
  • What does civility look like at WSU? In the community? Nationally? Globally?
  • What does civil disobedience look like, sound like, feel like?
  • How does civility tie into ethical behavior?
  • Who does civility affect besides yourself?
  • Who decides what is civil?
  • What are the limits of civility?
  • At what point does civility break down and why?

Throughout 2017-18, we will view "civility" through six prisms, culture, economics, education, health, politics, and environment. Please consider ways in which you might incorporate this topic into your teaching, planning, and discussions this year.

PDF Brochure of Events

Events for 2017-18

Contact

Teresa Martinez
teresamartinez1@weber.edu
801-626-7737

2017-2018 Engaged Learning Series Committee

Theme: Civility

Prism Name College/ Division/ Organization Email
Cultural Chair: Teresa Martinez Student Affairs - CCEL teresamartinez1@weber.edu
Becky Jo Gesteland College of Arts & Humanities bgesteland@weber.edu

Ernesto Hernandez, Jr. 

Library (Academic Affairs) ernestohernandez@weber.edu

Luke Fernandez

College of Engineering, Applied Science & Technology lfernandez@weber.edu
Economical

Chair: Mike Vaughan

School of Business & Economics mvaughan@weber.edu

Jennifer Gnagey

School of Business & Economics jennifergnagey@weber.edu
Educational

Chair: Tamara Goldbogen

College of Arts & Humanities tamaragoldbogen@weber.edu

Shirley Dawson

College of Education shirleydawson@weber.edu

Melina Alexander

College of Education melinaalexander@weber.edu

Shaun Adamson

Library (Academic Affairs) shaunadamson@weber.edu
Environmental

Chair: Alice Mulder 

College of Social & Behavioral Science samulder@weber.edu

Dan Bedford 

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences dbedford@weber.edu

Shaun Adamson

Library (Academic Affairs) shaunadamson@weber.edu
Health

Chair: Janelle Gardiner 

College of Health Professions jgardiner@weber.edu

Kathleen Cadman 

College of Health Professions kathleencadman@weber.edu

Julie Rhodes 

College of Health Professions julierhodes@weber.edu

Kristy Baron

College of Health Professions kristybaron@weber.edu

Jeanette Harris 

College of Health Professions jeanetteharris@weber.edu
Political

Chair: Barrett Bonella

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences barrettbonella@weber.edu

Leah Murray 

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences lmurray@weber.edu

Mark Merkley 

College of Arts & Humanities mmerkley@weber.edu

Shelly (Michelle) Jackson

Weber County Elections mjackson@co.weber.ut.us

Luis Lopez

WSU Community Education Center luislopez@weber.edu

Gary Johnson 

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences garyjohnson@weber.edu

Luke Fernandez

College of Engineering, Applied Science & Technology lfernandez@weber.edu

Previous Topics

ELS Related Links