Weber State Debate

What is Weber State Debate?

Weber State Debate, established in 1922, is the oldest and most competitive team at Weber State University. We are a co-curricular program housed in the Department of Communication but open to all students regardless of major. We specialize in academic policy debate, and our student-competitors regularly rank in the top 25 programs in the nation, often against the finest public and private universities.

Weber Debate Wins at CEDA

Weber State Debate came home with lots of awards from the 2019 Cross Examination Debate Association National Debate Tournament.

What You Will Learn

With nearly 50 students traveling to compete per year, we are also the largest policy debate squad in the western United States. Our students learn advanced research, argumentative and rhetorical skills and are well-prepared to attend graduate or professional school after a minimum of a two-year commitment to the team. Our student-competitors come from a wide range of backgrounds and experience levels, and we regularly travel 20 or more students to a dozen regional and national tournament. Student-competitors are required to be full-time students in good academic standing, to abide by our honor code requirements, to attend weekly meetings and practice sessions, complete research projects in a timely manner, travel to tournaments, and engage in community service hosting tournaments and professional conferences.

We regularly host tournaments for the home school, high school, and college debate communities, typically drawing more than 1,000 guests to campus per year. In 2012-2013 student-competitors will help host the 67th annual National Debate Tournament to be held at Weber State on March 28 to April 1, 2013 on the 90th birthday of the Weber Debate Team and 25 years after we last hosted this national event.


Scholarships are available. Pending good performance, they are renewable for up to four years. 

Weber State Debate Slays at CEDA

Weber State University had one of the most memorable experiences at 2019 Cross Examination Debate Association National Debate Tournament. We were literally showered in recognition and awards.

Institutional Awards 
- Weber State University, 2019 National Public Debate Award Recipient
- Weber State University, 1st Place West Sweepstakes

Coaching Awards 
- Director Ryan Wash, Critic of the Year in Western Region

Competitive Awards 
- Bianca Morales and Hannah Phelps, Double-Octofinalists, 19th Place
- Bianca Morales, 2nd place speaker in the nation! (Received four of eight perfect speaking scores)

Academic Awards 
- Bianca Morales, National All-American Team
- Roey Sellouk, National Debate Scholar Magna Cum Laude
- Zachary Baker, National Debate Scholar Cum Laude
- Jordan Stephens, National Debate Scholar Cum Laude

Get Involved!

Contact the director of forensics

Ryan Wash
EH 111


Connect With Weber State Debate

Follow KWCR 88.1 WeberFM on Facebook