Graduate Certificate in Teaching (Teacher Licensing) Admission
Steps To Apply
Step 1: Application Process Information
Please note that you must have a bachelor's degree from an accredited University and a cumulative GPA of 2.75 or better to apply for this program.
Please review the instructional powerpoint below.
GCT Program Overview
Please plan for at least three months to complete the admissions process.
|Intended Start Date
|Application Due Date
Step 2: Send Transcripts
You must request official transcripts from every institution you have attended to verify degree(s) and coursework. At least one transcript should verify an obtained bachelor's degree. Your transcripts must show that you have a cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher from all institutions attended. (This GPA is a USBE licensing requirement. Students with GPAs below 2.75 will not be considered for the program.)
Each institution should mail the transcript directly to the GCT Program office:
Graduate Certificate in Teaching Program
Weber State University
1351 Edvalson St., Dept. 1304
Ogden Utah 84408-1306
You may also deliver an official transcript bearing a registrar’s unbroken seal to our office. A transcript marked "issued to student" is not official. If an institution was attended under a different name, please note the name change on the transcript request form and application.
**Submit transcripts two weeks prior to the deadline date to allow time for processing.
Step 3: Application, References, and Background Check
If at this point you have not viewed an information session, please do so using the links in step 1.
You must submit the online application by the following deadlines:
October 15 for Spring semester
January 15 for Summer semester
May 15 for Fall semester
The $60 application fee is non-refundable and subject to change.
When completing the online application, you must provide 3 email addresses of people who have observed your teaching and would be willing to fill out a recommendation form.
If a hard copy of the recommendation form is necessary please note that recommendation forms need to be sent directly from your references to the M.Ed. office. We cannot accept recommendation forms that are sent from the student. Recommendations may not be from relatives.
Please verify all email addresses are accurate.
Admission to the licensing program will be immediately revoked if you have a criminal record or gain one during the program, which has not been cleared by the Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission.
**Submit recommendations and background clearance two weeks prior to the deadline date to allow time for processing.
Step 4: Interview and Secondary Endorsement Courses
A group interview will be set up for those who have completed all the above application requirements. If you miss the group interview day for any reason, you must wait until the next semester.
Interviews will be scheduled between 4-8 weeks after the application deadline.
The purpose of the group interview is to demonstrate your communication and interpersonal skills. In a group of 6-8 potential licensing candidates, you will answer questions and solve problems with two professors observing. This interview will take approximately 2 hours.
Secondary Endorsement Courses
*Secondary endorsement courses must also be submitted before registration for student teaching, as required by the Utah State Board of Education.