Social Science Building At a Glance

Construction on the Social Science Building began in April 1970. The completed building was dedicated on Nov. 5, 1973. 

“On a daily basis, more than 4,000 students utilize the Social Science Building for classroom instruction, lab work, and testing. Every student on campus experiences the Social Science Building at some point in their education," said Francis Harrold, dean of the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Today, the Social Science Building houses:

  • 69 faculty members
  • 14 staff
  • Seven departments
  • Two programs offering minors
  • The Social Science Education Center
  • The Olene S. Walker Institute of Politics & Public Service
  • The Richard Richards Institute for Ethics

Departments housed in the Social Science Building include:

  • Criminal Justice (and the Master of Criminal Justice program)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Political Science and Philosophy
  • Psychology
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Social Work and Gerontology

Two programs offering minors are also housed in the Social Science Building:

  • Women’s Studies
  • Neurosciences

*Military Science (ROTC) is part of the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences but is housed across the street in an annex.