Annual Automotive Scholarship Contest 2019

autotech competition


The Weber State University Automotive Contest is an annual contest for high school automotive students. Top scoring automotive high school seniors from Utah and the surrounding states come to compete for scholarships, tools, and a vehicle for their school.  The contest was started in 1987, and was coordinated for 17 years (1988–2004) by Rondo Erickson as a recruiting tool for the WSU Automotive Technology Program.

Contest Rule Book (pdf)

2018 Winners Former Winners


The contest has two parts: a written test and a skills/hands-on portion.


Part 1

Qualifying Round: Written Exam

The written test will consist of 50 multiple choice questions that are based on the NATEF MLR tasks. All 8 ASE areas will be represented at the NATEF MLR level. The contest takes approximately 3 hours. There is an awards ceremony afterwards where the top 12 schools will be invited to return to the hands-on competition.

December 6, 2018

Agenda (pdf)


Registration Form

Registration due November 30, 2018

Registration Fee: $100 Per School

Mail your payment:
Automotive Technology
1465 Edvalson St., Dept. 2404
Ogden, UT 84408












Part 2

Championship Round: Hands-on Challenge

The hands-on contest features 12 workstations which are limited to the scope of the NATEF MLR standards. The competition lasts nearly 4 hours. There is an awards banquet afterwards.

February 7, 2019

9:30 am - Judges Arrive

10:00 am - Judges Station Orientation
Schools Arrive - check-in and waiting area (room TE 202D)

11:00 am - Contest begins
12:45 pm - Lunch break (room TE 202D) - Pizza will be provided

1:15 pm - Contestants return to stations

4:00 pm - Contest ends

5:30 pm - Awards Banquet
Steward Stadium,
Skybox Suites, 3rd floor
6:15 pm - Announcement of Results

Agenda (pdf)


Registration Form

Registration due February 1, 2019



Event Parking

Only school buses are permitted to park for free in the Dee Event Center parking lot.

Any high school student or high school instructor that wants to park a personal vehicle will need to purchase a parking pass from the information booth.

The Department of Automotive Technology does not have the authority to void any parking tickets nor will the department cover the expense of any parking tickets received by participants.