skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps

Environmental Initiatives Committee

The Environmental Initiatives Committee, working in conjunction with the Sustainability Practices and Research Center (SPARC), facilitates the integration of environmental and sustainability initiatives into Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, and Facilities Management. This committee also supports SPARC in its activities and role as a local and statewide resource for scientifically-based information and for leadership in addressing sustainability challenges. The committee serves as both the advisory board to SPARC and a rotating working group of faculty from across the colleges, which studies, evaluates and makes recommendations for sustainability-supportive policy affecting the campus community. The committee is led by Co-Chairs: one faculty member from the EIC and the other the Director of the SPARC, or the Director’s designee. 

Contact Us

Dr. Alice Mulder

Phone: 801-626-6198

Dr. Heather Root

Phone: 801-626-6175


Name Department Email
Diego Batista Foreign Language
Mary Foss Mechanical Engineering
Joanna Gautney Anthropology
Matt Gnagey Economics
Mark Halverson (Ex Officio) Facilities and Campus Planning
Saori Hanaki Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
Carrie Jeffrey Nursing
Jenny Kokai Performing Arts
Heather Merkley Health Administrative Service
Daniel Pyle Teacher Education
Julie Rich (Administration) Dean, College of Social Sciences, Geography
Gavin Roberts Economics
Mark A. Stevenson Sociology
Barb Wachocki (Liason) Botany

The EIC Committee meeting schedule and other sustainability events can be found on the sustainability calendar.