skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps

Environmental Initiatives Committee

The Environmental Initiatives Committee, working in conjunction with the Sustainability Practices and Research Center (SPARC), facilitates the integration of environmental and sustainability initiatives into Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, and Facilities Management. This committee also supports SPARC in its activities and role as a local and statewide resource for scientifically-based information and for leadership in addressing sustainability challenges. The committee serves as both the advisory board to SPARC and a rotating working group of faculty from across the colleges, which studies, evaluates and makes recommendations for sustainability-supportive policy affecting the campus community. The committee is led by Co-Chairs: one faculty member from the EIC and the other the Director of the SPARC, or the Director’s designee. 

Contact Us

Dr. Alice Mulder

Co-Chair
Phone: 801-626-6198
amulder@weber.edu

Dr. Heather Root

Co-Chair
Phone: 801-626-6175
heatherroot@weber.edu

Members

Name Department Email
Diego Batista Foreign Language diegobatistarey@weber.edu
Mary Foss Mechanical Engineering maryfoss@weber.edu
Joanna Gautney Anthropology joannagautney@weber.edu
Matt Gnagey Economics mattgnagey@weber.edu
Mark Halverson (Ex Officio) Facilities and Campus Planning markhalverson@weber.edu
Saori Hanaki Exercise and Nutrition Sciences saorihanaki@weber.edu
Carrie Jeffrey Nursing carriejeffrey@weber.edu
Jenny Kokai Performing Arts jenniferkokai@weber.edu
Heather Merkley Health Administrative Service hmerkley@weber.edu
Daniel Pyle Teacher Education danielpyle@weber.edu
Julie Rich (Administration) Dean, College of Social Sciences, Geography jrich@weber.edu
Gavin Roberts Economics gavinroberts@weber.edu
Mark A. Stevenson Sociology mstevenson1@weber.edu
Barb Wachocki (Liason) Botany bwachocki@weber.edu

The EIC Committee meeting schedule and other sustainability events can be found on the sustainability calendar.