(ITIL) Information Technology Infrastructure Library

ITIL and IT Service Management at Weber State University

IT Service Management is an internationally recognized best practice framework for providing services. In 2007, the IT Division implemented ITIL procedures for handling incidents that come to the IT Service Desk, striving to follow the ITIL best practice methodologies set within the IT Infrastructure Library.

We focus on Incident, Problem, and Change processes to handle and resolve incoming issues, and Continual Service Improvement to proactively manage our service schema.

All IT staff are ITIL Foundations certified. Directors and managers can seek Intermediate level certifications in ITIL V3.

ITIL 4 chart of new levels including Managing Professional and Strategic Leader paths IT Business Services Director and staff are currently focused on completing the Service Capability module certifications in:   

  1. Service Offerings and Agreements,
  2. Planning, Protection, and Optimization,
  3. Operational Support and Analysis, and
  4. Release, Control, and Validation.

These modules provide broad exposure to technical knowledge.

The new ITIL 4 model has made significant improvements "with an emphasis on the Business and Technology world, how it will work in the future with Agile, DevOps, and digital transformation." (ITIL V4 at Axelos) It brings ITIL up to date as the first major update since 2007 when ITIL V3 was released.

The new framework includes two focus areas: an ITIL Managing Professional (MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (SL).