Scholarships and Tuition Waivers

The Communication Department can help you pay for your education through scholarships. Many, but not all scholarships, are for Communication majors, and most, but not all, are awarded for involvement in one of the department’s five co-curricular activities. To be eligible for any scholarship, you must apply for federal financial aid through the FAFSA. To apply: go to Financial Aid & Scholarships and follow the steps. If you are a continuing WSU student, you must complete the online scholarship application each year. For college and department-specific scholarships, please complete the Specialized Scholarship Application form.

Other scholarships have separate requirements. Below is a brief explanation of how the process works for each scholarship along with deadlines.

Weber State Debate

Weber State Debate has several sources of scholarship support, such as the Louis W. Babcock Debate Scholarship and the Leland H. Monson Debate Scholarship, plus tuition waivers. Debate students must be full-time students and maintain a GPA of 2.5 while participating in Weber State Debate. The Scholarship Committee awards these scholarships based on nominations from the debate director. For more information about funding opportunities, contact Lauren Johnson,

The Signpost

The student news organization offers tuition waivers and scholarships that pair well with waivers from other departments. In addition, several named scholarships are awarded annually to Signpost staffers who are journalism majors, including the the Jack and Betty Lampros Scholarship, Deseret News, Salt Lake Tribune, Helen Cortez Stafford, Allison Barlow Hess, and Society of Professional Journalists. The Scholarship Committee awards these scholarships in Spring based on nominations from The Signpost advisor. For more information, email Dr. Jean Norman,

KWCR Wildcat Radio

The campus live-streaming radio station offers tuition waivers to students of all majors who are selected to be on staff leadership positions for the fiscal school year. The station is home to the Len Allen Memorial Scholarship, awarded to an outstanding established member of the radio station. The Scholarship Committee awards this scholarship in Spring based on nominations from the KWCR advisor. For more information, email Dr. Nathan Rodriguez,

Studio 76 

The student-run video production studio offers activity waivers for staff positions that range from team leaders to program directors to content producers. In addition to these waivers, other scholarships such as the Shane Farver scholarship and the KSL scholarship are available. The Scholarship Committee awards these scholarships in Spring based on nominations from the Studio 76 advisor. For more information, email Andrea Baltazar,

Ogden Peak Communications

Weber State’s student-run public relations firm offers activity-based tuition waivers to students who participate in the leadership of the organization. Currently, waivers are assigned to several positions including firm director, account executive and creative team lead. Interested students should apply for the positions to take advantage of the waivers. For more information about the positions and application details, email advisor Dr. Nicola Corbin at

Patrick R. Parkinson Scholarship

This scholarship is for a Communication major with one of the following declared emphasis areas: Multimedia Journalism, Public Relations & Advertising or Civic Advocacy. Preference is given to students in Multimedia Journalism. Students must have a minimum 2.5 GPA, and financial need is preferred but does not have to be demonstrated through FAFSA. Students will be nominated by faculty who advise Multimedia Journalism, Public Relations & Advertising, and Civic Advocacy, and the selection will be made by the Scholarship Committee. Contact Dr. Jean Norman at for more information.