skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps

Model United Nations

What is Model United Nations?

Model United Nations, or Model UN, is an academic opportunity in which students apply diplomacy, negotiation, research, and public speaking skills in a simulation of the United Nations. Students choose different countries to represent in the General Assembly, Security Council, and other associated UN bodies. Global issues and current United Nations topics are researched followed by collaboration with other students to create solutions to world problems.


Students assume the role of delegates in the classroom and potentially at various conferences. Delegates study world issues from multiple perspectives and then represent various countries. In a diplomatic manner, delegates will negotiate, argue, present, and most important, write resolutions on a variety of topics to address world problems and collaborate on potential solutions.


 Donate to the Model UN Fund  Donate to the Model UN Endowment 

Our History

Weber State University has been committed to Model United Nations since 1968. Since 2014, Dr. Stephanie Wolfe, Associate Professor of the Department of Political Science and Philosophy and Adviser for the International Studies Program, has been the coach and advisor for the Model UN team. Throughout the years, Weber State University has participated in Model United Nations of the Far West conference in San Francisco, as well as the National Model United Nations (NMUN) in Washington, D.C.

Weber State has been the recipient of numerous awards for excellence. The Model United Nations at Weber State University won 3 awards in the 2022 Far West conference representing two countries: Iraq and Romania. The first award was for the delegation of Romania (3 students) for Excellence in the art and practice of diplomacy. The second award was for the delegation of Iraq (4 students) also for the art and practice of diplomacy. The third award was for a Romanian delegate who was awarded the title of Special Rapporteur for Excellence in the Third Committee.