Jeff Grunow Paramedic Advancement Scholarship

Jeff Grunow was the department chair and paramedic program director for the Department of Emergency Healthcare (formerly known as Emergency Care & Rescue), from 2002 until his retirement in 2017. During his tenure, Jeff was instrumental in a number of positive changes, including the development of the area's first distance paramedic program, the recognition of National Registry as the credentialing requirement for paramedics in the State of Utah, the acquisition of funding for the Tyson Mason Memorial Simulated Ambulance Center, and the creation and launching of Weber State University's first ever Bachelor of Science in Emergency Healthcare Sciences.

Jeff holds a strong commitment to the advancement of EMS as a healthcare profession, not just in Utah, but on the national stage.  Jeff is a charter member of the National Association of EMS Educators (NAEMSE) and long-time accreditation site evaluator for the Committee on Accreditation for EMS Education Programs (CoAEMSP). Upon his retirement, Jeff left the department a generous endowement to assist paramedic graduates with their pursuits of higher education. The Jeff Grunow Paramedic Advancement Scholarship is reserved for individuals who have graduated from the Weber State Paramedic Program, and wish to obtain an associates or bachelors degree.

Criteria: The scholarship recipient must have completed an institutional certificate in paramedicine, possess a current National Registry Paramedic certification, must be seeking an AAS degree in Paramedic Studies or a BS in Emergency Healthcare, and have a 2.8 GPA or higher.  Applicants can be part-time or full-time students.

Designation: Recipients will be selected by the scholarship committee of the Department of Emergency Healthcare, composed of a minimum of three (3) people, as designated by the chair. Funds may be dispersed during the Fall, Spring, or Summer semesters depending on availability and student need.

Uses: Tuition, fees, or other educational expenses.