NULC 2023 ~ March 30-April 1, 2023

The National Undergraduate Literature Conference 2023 is in the planning stages, but we are looking forward to a fully in-person experience. We are excited to interact with student presenters and authors in person. 

We will begin accepting submissions on October 30, 2022, and the deadline will be February 15, 2023, so you have plenty of time to choose your favorite works to share.We are looking forward to a robust selection of submissions and participation. 

We are in negotiations to secure another award-winning author to share their insights and advice for budding writers, and we look forward to an announcement soon. Please plan to join us in 2023 and help us maintain the excellence of this conference and the unique opportunities it offers undergraduate students.  We hope the NULC continues for many years to come!

Sarah Vause and Mike Vause, Co-Directors of the National Undergraduate Literature Conference

Dana Gibson, Executive Operations Manager

  Award-Winning Authors from 2022  


Ayana Mathis

Ayana Mathis's stunning debut novel, The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, was hailed by critics as the arrival of an incandescent literary talent. The book tells the story of the Great Migration through the eyes of a woman who moves from the South to Philadelphia and her eleven children and one grandchild—her twelve tribes. Oprah Winfrey called it "astonishing" and selected it as the second book for the Oprah's Book Club 2.0. A New York Times bestseller, Hattie was selected as a Best Book of the Year in 2013 by the New York Times, The Boston Globe, and NPR. It was nominated for a 2013 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Black literature. Mathis's nonfiction has been published in The New York Times, The Financial Times, The New Yorker, and Rolling Stone. She was also a contributor to the essay collection Double Bind: Women on Ambition, along with Roxane Gay, Francine Prose, and others. Mathis has been the recipient of fellowships from the New York Public Library's Cullman Center, The Bogliasco Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Foundation in Italy, and the American Academy in Berlin. She was the first Black woman to be a permanent member of the faculty at the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and has taught in MFA Programs at Columbia University and Rutgers. She is at work on her second novel, A Violent Woman.



Tobias Wolff

Tobias Wolff's books include the memoirs This Boy's Life and In Pharaoh's Army: Memories of the Lost War; the short novel The Barracks Thief; the novel Old School, and four collections of short stories, In the Garden of the North American Martyrs, Back in the Wold, The Night in Question, and, most recently, Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories. He has also edited several anthologies, among them Best American Short Stories 1994, A Doctor's Visit: The Short Stories of Anton Chekhov, and The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories. His work is translated widely and has received numerous awards, including the PEN/Falkner Award, The Los Angeles Times Book Prize, both the MEN/Malamud and the Rea Award for Excellence in the Short Story, the Story Prize, and the Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. A Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, he is the Ward W. and Priscilla B. Woods Professor of English, Emeritus, at Stanford University. In 2015 he received the National Medal of Arts from President Barack Obama.


Clint Smith

Clint Smith is a staff writer at The Atlantic. He is the authorof Counting Descent, which won the 2017 Literary Award for Best Poetry Book from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association and was a finalist for an NAACP Image Award. Clint has received fellowships from New America, the Art For Justice Fund, Cave Canem, and the National Science Foundation. His writing has been published in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, Poetry Magazine, The Paris Review and elsewhere. He currently teaches writing and literature at the DC Central Detention Facility. His debut nonfiction book How the Word Is Passed, which explores how different historical sites reckon with—or fail to reckon with—their relationship to the history of slavery, was published by Little, Brown in June 2021. He received his B.A. in English from Davidson College and his Ph.D. in Education from Harvard University. 




Find us on Facebook at National Undergraduate Literature Conference @webernulc

and follow us on Twitter @NULCwsu

Donate here to help us provide students with amazing literary experiences presenting original works and meeting award-winning authors at NULC. 



Submission Deadlines

Registration Deadlines

October 30, 2022 - February 15, 2022

We will contact you via email if your work is accepted for presentation.

February 24 - March 15, 2023 (Regular Registration)
March 16 - March 25, 2023 (Late Registration)

Registration opportunities will not be available following March 25, 2023.


Want to stay informed about NULC events?

Sign up here for our mailing list!

* Required fields

The WSU National Undergraduate Literature Conference is sponsored by generous support from:

  • J&J Ferree Foundation
  • John E. Lindquist
  • Kathryn Lindquist
  • Suzanne M. Lindquist
  • William & Amanda J. H. Waterstradt Memorial
  • WSU Office of the President
  • WSU Office of Diversity
  • WSU Telitha E. Lindquist College of Arts & Humanities
  • WSU Office of the Provost
  • WSU English Department
  • Dean W. and Carol W. Hurst Artist-in-Residence Endowment
  • Suzanne M. Lindquist & John E. Lindquist National Undergraduate Literature Conference Endowment*
  • The National Undergraduate Literature Conference Endowment*
  • *Endowments established in honor of Mikel Vause, Carl Porter and John A. and Telitha E. Lindquist
  • Nebeker Family Foundation
  • MSL Family Foundation
  • Elliot Hulet