skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps


I have been involved in supervising undergraduate research since 1992 when I was a postdoctoral scientist at the University of Arizona. Students are expected to secure their own research funding, to present their findings at national and international conferences, and to contribute to peer-reviewed publications. Highlights of this 20-year effort include:

  • Directly supervised the research projects of 30 students, 23 of whom completed post-graduate degrees
    • 1 M.D./Ph.D. degree
    • 12 M.D. degrees
    • 8 Ph.D. degrees
    • 1 D.D.S. degree
    • 2 M.S. degrees
  • Seven peer-reviewed journal publications with student co-authors
  • Seven undergraduate and one Master’s theses
  • Six national research awards
  • $49,100 in competitive fellowships and grants, written by students
  • Competitive student grants obtained from 14 different agencies
  • 12 students elected to Sigma Xi on the basis of research accomplishments
  • 11 (of 19 possible) Department of Zoology Laboratory Research Awards
  • 18 peer-reviewed presentations by W.S.U. students at national and international meetings

Under my supervision, students learn to write grants, design and conduct experiments, collect and analyze data, and present their findings in peer-reviewed venues. Undergraduate research experience is an important component of a successful application to graduate and professional schools and almost all of my students have obtained postgraduate degrees:


Michael Schlosser

M.D. 1998
Yale University

Pyong Kim

M.D. 1999
University of Arizona

Tasha Altheide

Ph.D. 2002
University of Arizona

Zac Forsman

Ph.D. 2003
University of Houston

Jed Poll

M.D. 2004
Medical College of Wisconsin

Christopher Ostler

M.S. 2005
Westminster College

Melissa Bentley

M.D. 2006
University of Utah

Justin Wilson

M.D. 2006
Penn State University

Kristina McKinley

M.D. 2007
University of Utah

Olga Freidekind

Ph.D. 2008
University of Heidelburg (Germany)

Aaron Anderson

M.D. 2008
University of Cincinnati

Kenneth Lindley

M.D. 2008
Ohio State University

Leah Colton

Ph.D. 2009
Colorado State University

Eric Gabrielsen

D.D.S. 2009
Ohio State University

Don Ericson

M.D. 2009
University of Utah

Ellen Suurmeyer

Ph.D. 2011
University of Arizona

Brian Oney

M.S. 2011 
University of Bayreuth (Germany)

Ph.D. 2016 
ETH Zurich (Switzerland)

Haylie Cox

M.S. 2013
Weber State University

Amanda Truong

M.D./Ph.D. 2021
University of Utah

Michal Matyjasik

Ph.D. 2019
University of Colorado, Boulder

Christopher Hill

M.D. 2018
Penn State University, Hershey

Son Nguyen

M.D. Candidate
University of Utah

Oscar Bedolla

M.D. Candidate
University of Utah

Sabrina Haney

Ph.D. Program
Washington State University

View the details of each student, including their grants, fellowships, presentations, and publications. They are an impressive group!