Meet Your Legislative Branch

Established in 1915, Student Senate represents the Students' Association within the University governance structure. Among its many responsibilities, Senate initiates action on student concerns, serves as the voice of students on University committees, provides student scholarships, and is responsible for the appropriation of funds to student organizations.

Student Senate meets weekly (during the Fall and Spring semesters) on Mondays at 2 p.m. in the Union. Meetings are open to the public and students are encouraged to attend and voice their opinions and concerns. Student Body Officers and Senators maintain regular office hours to ensure accessibility to students.

Connect with student senate on Facebook

Academic Senators

Jared Smith Jared Smith

Senator for the College of Applied Science & Technology
Ashlee Cawley Ashlee Cawley

Senator for the College of Arts & Humanities
Kurt Kunzler Kurt Kunzler

Senator for the College of Business & Economics
Betsy Lopez Betsy Lopez

Senator for the College of Education
Kami May Kami May

Senator for the College of Health Professions
Chelsea Bybee Chelsea Bybee

Senator for the College of Science
Valeria Torena Valeria Torena

Senator for the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
Clarence Kelley Clarenc "Boomer" Kelley

Senator for WSU Honors & BIS


Special Constituency Senators

Solmaz Hossiana Solmaz Hosseinia

Graduate Student Senator
Sammuel Hobbs Sammuel Hobbs

Traditional Student Senator
Sandi Weber Sandi K. Weber

Non-Traditional Student Senator
Anastasia Austin Anastasia Austin

Residence Halls Senator
Tyler Hall Tyler Hall

Davis Campus Senator
Cash Knight Cash Knight

Athletics Senator
Melissa Reese Melissa Reese

Students with Disabilities Senator
Hasan Nezam Hasan Nezam

International Student Senator
Kyle Poppitz Kyle Poppitz

Veteran Student Senator
Jennifer Wyllie Jennifer Wyllie

African American Senator
Evan Chief Evan Chief

American Indian Senator
Juhi Dubal Juhi Dubal

Asian Students Senator
Andrea Salcedo Andrea Salcedo

Hispanic Students Senator
Jared Shaw Jared Shaw

Pacific Islander Senator
Not Filled

Senate Secretary