LARRY MCMURTRY

Larry Jeff McMurtry (born June 3, 1936) is an American novelist, essayist, bookseller, and screenwriter whose work is predominantly set in either the <u>old West</u> or in contemporary <u>Texas</u>. His novels include <u>Horseman, Pass By</u> (1962), *The Last Picture Show* (1966) and *Terms of Endearment* (1975), which were adapted into films earning 26 <u>Academy Award</u> nominations (10 wins). His 1985 <u>Pulitzer Prize-winning</u> novel <u>Lonesome Dove</u> was adapted into a television miniseries that earned 18 <u>Emmy Award</u> nominations (seven wins), with the other three novels in his <u>Lonesome Dove series</u> adapted into three more miniseries, earning eight more Emmy nominations. McMurtry and cowriter <u>Diana Ossana</u> adapted the screenplay for <u>Brokeback Mountain</u> (2005), which earned eight Academy Award nominations with three wins, including McMurtry and Ossana for Best Adapted Screenplay.