The Department of Chemistry is housed within the College of Science.  It is approved by the American Chemical Society (ACS).  The department offers an ACS Certified Chemistry program that leads to the Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry.  This program meets all the requirements of the ACS and the graduates' names are submitted to the ACS and certified by the department.  The Chemistry Teaching Major leads to a Bachelor of Science Degree with secondary education licensure.  The Chemistry minor, Chemistry Teaching Minor, and Bachelor of Integrated Studies (BIS) Chemistry emphasis are also available. The two-year Chemical Technician Program, leading to an Associate of Applied Science Degree or a Certificate of Skill Proficiency, is designed to emphasize skills required for employment as a technician in chemical laboratories.  The chemistry faculty’s range of expertise includes Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Physical Chemistry.

Chemistry Department Website

Contact Information
Dr. Laine Berghout
Weber State University
2503 University Circle
Ogden, UT 84408-2503
Science Lab Bldg, Rm 502M
(801) 626-6354