skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps


Graduate Certificate in Teaching (Teacher Licensing) Admission

How to Apply



Step 1: Apply to WSU

Admission to Weber State University is required prior to acceptance into our graduate certificate program. 

Apply Now

A maximum of 9 semester hours or 12 quarter hours of previous graduate courses can be accepted into the program and must be approved by the program director. Pre-admission credits are subject to the currency rule: At the time of completion of your degree, no credits may be older than 6 years.


Step 2: Send Transcripts

You must request official transcripts from every institution you have attended to verify degree(s) and coursework. At least one transcript should verify an obtained bachelor's degree. Your transcripts must show that you have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher from all institutions attended. (This GPA is a USOE licensing requirement. Students with GPAs below 3.00 will not be considered for the program.)

Each institution should mail the transcript directly to the Master of Education office:

Master of Education Program
Weber State University
1351 Edvalson St., Dept. 1306
Ogden Utah 84408-1306

Alternately, you may deliver an official transcript bearing a registrar’s seal and unbroken seal to our office. A transcript marked "issued to student" is not official. If an institution was attended under a different name, please note the name change on the transcript request form and application.

If you graduated from WSU, you must send the WSU Records Office a written request that your official transcript be sent to the Master of Education office.


Step 3: Application and References

Schedule at least one advisement session with our program director or the administrative assistant prior to completing your application form.

You can set up your appointment by emailing our administrative assistant Melinda Bowers at


You must submit the online application by the following deadlines:

  • Jan. 15 for summer semester
  • May 15 for fall semester
  • Sept. 15 for spring semester

The $60 application fee is non-refundable and subject to change.

Graduate Certificate Program Application


When completing the online application, you must provide email addresses of 3 people who have had the opportunity to observe your teaching and would be willing to fill out recommendation forms for you.

Please verify all email addresses are accurate.

Recommendations may not be from relatives.



Step 4: Praxis II, Background Check and Interview

Praxis II

You must take and pass all sections of the Praxis II, as required by the Utah State Office of Education.

Go to to find and register for the correct Utah test. If you are applying for a special education license, you must take the test for elementary education.

Background Check

You must pass a Utah State Office of Education background check as part of the admission requirements (no other background check will be allowed).

Background Check Application

Admission to the licensing program will be immediately revoked if you have a criminal record or gain one during the program, which has not been cleared by the Utah Professional Practices Advisory Commission.


A group interview will be set up for those who have completed all the above application requirements. You may request the interview if you have signed up for the Praxis but have not yet passed it. If you miss the group interview day for any reason, you must wait until the next semester.

NO make-up dates are provided for the group interviews. 

Interviews will be scheduled between 4-8 weeks after the application deadline.  

The purpose of the group interview is to demonstrate your communication and interpersonal skills. In a group of 6-8 potential licensing candidates, you will answer questions and solve problems with two professors observing. This interview will take approximately 2 hours.

Contact our administrative assistant Melinda Bowers at if you have not been contacted within a week of completing the online application process.