Crystal Crest Woman of the Year

Think Oscars, but subtract the limos, paparazzi and film actors, and add elements of academic and personal excellence.

Weber State University’s 31st annual Crystal Crest Awards were announced Saturday night.

“It’s the Academy Awards of Weber State,” said Judy Hurst, former assistant dean of the Weber State Davis Campus, and now a Crystal Crest volunteer. “It’s an honor to win and even to be nominated. Over the years, I have seen the Crystal Crests on a lot of people’s resumes.”

Awards go to top students, faculty and staff members.

“It’s important recognition for students, faculty and staff members who have gone above and beyond what they’ve been asked to do,” said Courtney Ellis, WSU student director of special events. “Some of the students who have won this year have not only top grades, but involvement in the university and the community. These are people who have stepped up their games and been leaders.”

And the 2013 winners are:


  • Neil Burnett, Man of the Year. Burnett is a senior in Human Performance Management with a minor in Spanish. He has served as admissions ambassador, resident assistant in campus housing, and vice president of the ballroom dance club. Burnett impressed the committee with his desire to help others, to share his knowledge and experiences and to find joy in everything he does.
  • Kelsey Spaulding, Woman of the Year (pictured above). Spaulding, a double major in interior design and technical sales, hopes to work at an architectural engineering firm. Spaulding has served as senator for the College of Applied Science and Technology for two years, and is known for her passion, determination, work ethic and leadership skills.
  • Josh Hunt, Wildcat Achievement. Hunt is studying social work and criminal justice. He is the diversity vice president and a member of the ROTC. Hunt is known for his leadership, dedication and perseverance, according to the selection committee.
  • Chelsea Wessman, Volunteer Service Selection Committee. Wessman was this year’s Special Olympics Winter Games director. She worked with Special Olympics Utah and its community partners, recruiting numerous volunteers, marketing and advertising.
  • Colby Mellies, Talent of the Year. Mellies is in the marching band and the pep band, and plays the bass clarinet and tenor saxophone. He also works in video production in WSU’s multimedia services.
  • Eladio Bobadilla, Scholar of the Year. Bobadilla is a first-generation college graduate who arrived in the United States at age 11. He graduated from high school and then served in the U.S. Navy, where he found both his love of history and his wife. After their military service, both enrolled at Weber State and graduated in three years. He will continue his studies on a full scholarship to a doctoral program at Duke University.
  • Christian Fellowship, Registered Organization of the Year. Christian Fellowship has grown in membership exponentially through inclusive and deliberate efforts to attract a diverse student membership. The Fellowship has provided significant student development, leadership and personal enrichment opportunities through meaningful community service and civic engagement.
  • David Wilson, Personality of the Year. Wilson is president of the WSU admissions ambassadors, the soccer fan club, the WSU hockey fan club and the French club. He has been the traditional student senator for two years and the academic affairs chair for the student senate. He is also the incoming Weber State University student body president.
  • Alicia Giralt, Rodney H. Brady Master Teacher. Giralt was a first-generation college student, which makes it easy for her to relate to her students’ needs. She goes out of her way to inform students of opportunities. Her students have received more than $50,000 in research grants and have presented their findings at many conferences.
  • Marilyn Cragun, Friend of Student. Students who have worked with Cragun over her two decades at WSU have described her as kind, helpful and positive. Students have said Cragun listens and tries to help with every question, concern or complaint.
  • Amber Henry, Female Athlete of the Year. Henry earned All-American honors twice during the 2012-13 season and captured three Big Sky Championships for the women’s track and field and cross country teams. She also won individual titles at the Big Sky Championships and the Mountain Region Championships.
  • Davion Berry, Male Athlete of the Year. Berry was the top scorer for the Weber State men’s basketball team during the 2012-13 season. He led Weber State in points, steals, assists and assist-to-turnover ratio. He finished fifth in the Big Sky in scoring at 15.2 points per game. He was named the Big Sky Newcomer of the Year after leading Weber State to a 30-7 record, the most wins in a season in Big Sky history.
  • Kathryn Lindquist, Crystal Crest Presidential Award. Lindquist was appointed to the Weber State Board of Trustees in 2005. After eight years of dedicated service, she will leave the board in June. Lindquist has worked to advance environmental and sustainability issues on and off campus, and was key in establishing the Community Involvement Center.
Originally written By Nancy Van Valkenburg for the Ogden Standard Examiner