skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps

Testing and Safety


Weber State University is making COVID-19 testing available for all members of our campus community. This coincides with a mandate the Utah Department of Health issued requiring all university and college students in Utah to be tested for COVID-19. 

If you test positive for COVID-19, you do not need to get a test for 90 days from the date you tested positive. The tests are free. All individuals coming to campus must comply with on-campus mitigation strategies.

It is imperative you take your temperature and self monitor prior to coming to campus for classes. If you have a fever or other COVID-19 symptoms, stay home. Do not come to campus unless you have been instructed to take a COVID-19 test.

By law, we are required to report positive tests to the health department. We will also be sharing that information with our campus contact tracers. Otherwise, your information will remain private and kept confidential. 

Randomized Surveillance Testing

Students, faculty and staff are now being randomly selected to take a COVID-19 test. We anticipate being able to offer 400 randomized surveillance tests each weekday and an additional 500 symptomatic and targeted tests weekly. You will receive an email if you are selected to be part of this randomized surveillance testing.

If you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms:

Faculty, staff and students should fill out the self-reporting form. In order to qualify, you must also present as symptomatic, which could include:

  • Fever or chills
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
  • Fatigue
  • Muscle or body aches
  • Headache
  • New loss of taste or smell
  • Sore throat
  • Congestion or runny nose
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Diarrhea

The test is free and no insurance card is required. When you fill out the self-report form, you will be issued an electronic parking pass for the A-6 lot (which is also good for any W lot) for the time of your testing appointment.

Results will be reported within a couple hours of the test. Negative results will be sent via email and positive results will be communicated via phone call.

Testing hours have changed. Symptomatic testing is available 12–2 p.m., every day, with the exception of university holidays, in the Marriott Allied Health Building, Ogden campus (access from outside stairs on west side of building).

If you are not experiencing COVID-19 symptoms:

You can still fill out the COVID test request form to be tested. This form must be completed the day before getting tested. We will not be accepting walk-up appointments. You must have a current W#.

The test itself is a self-administered lower nasal swab, and will take only a few minutes to complete. Individuals who test positive for COVID-19 will be notified of their results via phone call. All others will be notified via email, usually on the same day they are tested.

This COVID test is also available for WSU employees. Faculty and staff who spend time on campus are encouraged to get tested.

If for some reason you are unable to get tested at the time you have signed up for, you don't need to cancel the appointment. Simply reschedule whenever works for you. If you have tested positive for COVID-19, you do not need to sign up for a test for 90 days from the day you test positive.

Testing hours have changed.

Ogden campus

Jan. 25, onward:

  • Tuesday, 10 a.m.–12:30 p.m., Shepherd Union Ballroom C
  • Wednesday, 4–6 p.m., Shepherd Union Ballroom C
  • Thursday, 10 a.m.–12:30 p.m., Stewart Wasatch Residence Hall

Davis campus

Jan. 25, onward:

  • Thursday, 3–6 p.m.

COVID-19 Testing FAQ

Quarantining After Testing Positive

A 14-day quarantine is still the best and most effective way to protect other people from being exposed to the virus. You can spread the virus for 14 days after you were exposed. However, if you cannot quarantine for a full 14 days, public health officials have issued the following options as possible alternatives:

  • On day 10 without testing. If you don’t have symptoms of COVID-19, you can end quarantine 10 days after the last time you had close contact with the person who tested positive.
  • On day 7 with a negative test result. You can get tested on day seven and end quarantine if your test is negative and you do not have any symptoms of COVID-19. You must wait at least seven days after your exposure to be tested. The test can be a PCR or rapid antigen test. You must continue to quarantine until you get your test results back.
  • These recommendations do not apply to people who are living with someone who has COVID-19, this includes roommates in WSU residence halls.


  • Self-report any positive COVID-19 test result, suspected or confirmed exposure while awaiting testing results, or if you are experiencing COVID-19 related symptoms and are awaiting test results. Use the self-report form to do so.
  • For more information regarding what to do when someone tests positive for COVID-19, visit Appendix D of the Weber State Phased Guidelines for Pandemic Recovery.
  • Stay home when you are sick. Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If soap and water are not available, use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth with unwashed hands.
  • Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue, then throw the tissue in the trash. If a tissue is unavailable, use the inside of your elbow, never your hand.
  • If you're worried about whether you may have COVID-19, please call the Utah Coronavirus Information Line at 1-800-456-7707.
  • As new information emerges, please remember the risk of COVID-19 is not connected with race, ethnicity or nationality. Do not make determinations of risk based on race or country of origin, and be sure to maintain confidentiality of those who may be tested for or have confirmed coronavirus infection. Sharing accurate information from only reliable sources is the best thing community members can do to keep rumors and misinformation from spreading. 
  • Resources: