Justice matters. Equity matters. Black Lives Matter.

Dear students and university community,

As many of you have, we have been reflecting and finding ways to express our anger and sadness against the senseless murders of Black people in our country. People like George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Tony McDade, Kendra James, Eric Garner, Michael Brown, Breonna Taylor, Atatiana Jefferson, and the many others whose lives have been destroyed and lost at the hands of police.

At Weber State’s Office of Access and Diversity, we recognize and honor your humanity and your experiences because we know every part of you is exactly what makes you a strong and beautiful individual. We are hurting with feelings of anger, grief and loss. Because racial tension, discrimination and hatred continues to erase your humanity and unique authenticity, we need to remain strong and committed to social justice. We stand with you in raising our voices.

You are important to us and your uniqueness is essential to the growth of the community around you and the world at large. As professionals in higher education, we are committed and will continue to work with a social justice lens to ensure that all of us, but especially our students feel safe, welcome and supported. We are here with and for you. Please know that we are here to listen and work with you to dismantle racial discrimination and to promote equity and inclusion. We are here to hold space for conversations and we are committed to continued learning ourselves, while educating our campus and local communities. We encourage you to reach out to fellow students, peers and professionals whom you trust. Please share your concerns, your ideas, and help us get to a place where you feel safe, valued and proud to be a Wildcat. Please know you are our priority.

Justice matters. Equity matters. Black Lives Matter.

In solidarity, the Access and Diversity Team.

Andrea S. Hernández (andreahernandez2@weber.edu) and Diversity and Inclusive Programs Staff
Betty Sawyer (bettysawyer@weber.edu) and Community Engagement Staff
Brandon K Flores (brandonflores@weber.edu) and State GEAR UP Staff
Enrique Romo (enriqueromo@weber.edu) and Access and Diversity Staff
Jayson Stokes (jaysonstokes@weber.edu) and LGBT Center Staff
Michiko Nakashima-Lizarazo (mnakashima@weber.edu) and Center for Multicultural Excellence Staff
Olga Antonio (olgaantonio@weber.edu) and Peer Mentoring Program Staff
Rebecca Tierney (rebeccatierney@weber.edu) and College Access and First-Year Transition/TRIO Talent Search Staff
Samantha Hill (samanthahill2@weber.edu) and TRIO Upward Bound Staff
Trena Roueché (trenaroueche@weber.edu) and Ogden GEAR UP Staff

wildcat conversations on racism

For more information on Access & Diversity, contact:

DR. ENRIQUE ROMO

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs Access & Diversity


PHONE: 801-626-7006
OFFICE: Student Services SC150
EMAIL: access@weber.edu


Follow us on: Facebook.