Ethics Bowl Team Places Second in Nation

OGDEN, Utah – Weber State University’s Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl team had its best showing ever, placing second in the national Ethics Bowl competition last week in Cincinnati.

The competition, held March 4, featured the top 32 Ethics Bowl teams in the nation. WSU qualified for the national competition by placing second at the Wasatch Front Regional Ethics Bowl last November.

After being one of only three teams to go undefeated in the morning qualifying rounds, the WSU squad defeated Wright State and Indiana University (last year’s national champs) in the quarterfinals and semifinals respectively. In the finals, WSU lost to the University of Alabama, Birmingham. The second-place finish was the strongest showing yet by a WSU Ethics Bowl team. The previous best was taking fifth place at nationals in 2004, 2007 and 2008.

This year’s Ethics Bowl squad featured junior Jordan Fuit, a philosophy major from South Ogden; Dawn Hall, a senior philosophy major from Layton; senior Glenn Kunzler, a philosophy and computer science major from Willard; senior John Riley Piccolo, a philosophy and economics major from Eden; and senior Kevin Willardsen, a philosophy major from Roy.

More than 100 colleges and universities nationwide participate in Ethics Bowl competitions featuring teams of three to five members. Several weeks before a competition, squads are given 10-15 cases to prepare involving moral dilemmas (e.g. the Ku Klux Klan wants to join the adopt-a-highway program). At competition, teams compete head-to-head with a moderator asking each team a question about one of the scenarios. They have 10 minutes to craft a response followed by a series of rebuttals by both teams. A panel of judges evaluates and scores each team’s performance, drilling team members regarding their positions. The teams then reverse roles with a new case and question.

Visit for more news about Weber State University.
Richard Greene, Ethics Bowl faculty sponsor and coach
801-626-6694 •
John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
801-626-7212 •