Utah Boys' State Delegates Awarded Scholarships

OGDEN, Utah - More than 50 high school students throughout Utah received scholarships as a result of attending Utah Boys' State at Weber State University.

Scholarship sponsors included WSU, Samsung Corporation, America First Credit Union, Horizon Credit Union, Weber State Credit Union and US Veterans' Association.

"We're proud of the number of scholarships awarded in 2003," said Ken Hoyal, director of Utah Boys' State. "Scholarship awards through Utah Boys' State are noteworthy compared to other Boys' State programs in the United States."

Sponsored by the American Legion, Boys' State convenes in June each year for five days at WSU. The program involves the study of American government. Students participate in mock trials and elections, among other activities. Each student is eligible to register for three hours of university credit.

Participation is open, on a space available basis, to high school juniors who demonstrate good citizenship and are in good academic standing.  For more information, visit www.weber.edu/utboysstate.xml.

Utah Boys' State Class of 2003 recipients:
Scott Applegate, Spanish Fork
Timothy Bahr, Mountain View
Jared Ballingham, Ben Lomond
Burke Bess, Snow Canyon
Jarom Blackhurst, Bountiful
Cody Brunner, Kanab
Craig Carter, Cedar City
Bryce Coombs, Orem
Brandon Day, Juab
Brett Ellingson, American Fork
Benjamin Farnsworth, Duchesne
Blaine Farr, Weber
Cameron Fredrickson, Mountain Crest
Earl Greathouse, Delta
Taran Hansen, Snow Canyon
Jacob Hinton, Duchesne
Zachary Horton, Cedar City
Kristoffer Jackson, Logan
Ryan Jacobsen, Pine View
Alistair Johnston, Skyline
Josh Jones, Dixie
Robert Judd, South Sevier
John Kulikouski, Skyview
Tyler Labrum, Union
Brody Layton, Weber
Craig Maughan, Mountain Crest
Asher McKee, Duchesne
Logan McKinney, Payson
Preston Mitchell, Dixie
Benjamin Moore, Riverton
Makay Mortensen, Juab
Jonathan Neville, West Jordan
Cody Nielson, Delta
Benjamin Pacini, West
Caleb Porter, Morgan
Cody Rogers, West Jordan
Kendon Saez, Davis
David Sessions, Viewmont
Dharav Shah, Cottonwood
Jared Smart, Viewmont
Jonathan Synder, North Summit
Michael Taggart, Weber
Robert Tanner, Box Elder
Landon Taylor, Weber
Andrew Theurer, Highland
Brandon Vernon, Bountiful
William Wade, Hurricane
Michael Wilkey, Pleasant
Kory Wood, Weber



Ken Hoyal, Utah Boys' State Director
Danielle Blaisdell, Office of Media Relations
801-626-7212 · dblaisdell@weber.edu