Stevenson Elected Chair of Trustees

OGDEN, Utah – Jerry Stevenson was elected chair of the Weber State University Board of Trustees at its monthly meeting on Aug. 11. Trustee Alan Hall was elected vice chair.

Stevenson, formerly a mayor of Layton and president of the Utah Defense Alliance, succeeds Barney Chapman. A member of the board since 2005, Stevenson served as vice chair for the trustees during the past two years and has chaired the board's audit committee. 

"I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as a member of the board of trustees," Stevenson said. "I've been impressed by the quality of Weber State and look forward to serving in this position in the coming years."

Hall, chairman of MarketStar and founder of Grow Utah Ventures, has served as a member of the business, honorary degree, and community partnerships and economic development committees since joining the board in 2007. He also chairs the university's National Advisory Council.

Chapman has served as a member of the board for six years and its chair since 2007. In his time as chair, he oversaw several campus construction projects at the university worth $100 million.

The election was the first order of business for the board, which features three new members. The new trustees include Steve Starks, executive vice president of operations for The Larry H. Miller Group; Christopher G. Davis, the 2009-10 president of the WSU Alumni Association; and Tyler Lathem, 2009-10 student body president. 

Starks was named to a four-year term by former Gov. Jon Huntsman earlier this year. The governor also reappointed Stevenson, Kathryn Lindquist and James Beardall to second four-year terms.

Davis, who is Roy City's manager, is a 1979 alumnus of Weber State. He and Lathem will serve one-year terms on the board as part of their duties as president of the alumni association and student body, respectively.

Bryan Bowles and Camille Cain round out the 10-member board.

Visit for more news about Weber State University.
Travis Clemens, assistant director of Media Relations
801-626-7948 •
Ann Millner, president
801-626-6001 •