Chapman Elected to Chair Trustees

OGDEN, Utah – Barney Chapman was elected chair of the Weber State University Board of Trustees at its monthly meeting held Tuesday. Trustee Jerry Stevenson was elected vice-chair.

Chapman, a retired vice president for America First Credit Union, succeeds Thomas Davidson, whose term as a WSU trustee ended in June. A member of the board since 2003, Chapman served as vice-chair for the trustees during the past two years and has chaired the board’s business and community relations committees.

Stevenson, former mayor of Layton and president of the Utah Defense Alliance, has served as a member of the business committee since joining the board in 2005.

The election was the first order of business for the board, which features five new members. The new trustees include Davis School District Superintendent W. Bryan Bowles; former Weber County Commissioner Camille Cain; Alan Hall, chairman of MarketStar and founder of Grow Utah Ventures; Dr. Willard Maughan, the 2007-08 president of the WSU Alumni Association; and Jake Beus, 2007-08 student body president.

Bowles, Cain and Hall were named to four-year terms by Governor Jon Huntsman Jr. earlier this year. The governor also reappointed Chapman to a second four-year term.
Maughan, a dermatologist based in Ogden, is a 1962 alumnus of then Weber College. He and Beus will serve one-year terms on the board as part of their duties as president of the alumni association and student body, respectively.

James Beardall, Kathryn Lindquist and Steven Petersen round out the 10-member board of trustees.

Ann Millner, president
(801) 626-6001 •


John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 •