Hall Elected to Lead Board of Trustees

OGDEN, Utah – Alan Hall has been elected chair of the Weber State University Board of Trustees at its monthly meeting Aug. 10. Hall succeeds Jerry Stevenson, who announced his resignation from the board at the August meeting. Trustee James Beardall was elected vice chair.

Stevenson, a former mayor of Layton and past president of the Utah Defense Alliance, was elected chair last year. In January, he was appointed to the Utah Senate to complete state senator Sheldon Killpack’s term.

A member of the board since 2005, Stevenson said his plans to seek election to Senate District 21 prompted his decision to step down from the trustees.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as a member of the board of trustees,” Stevenson said. “I will miss the frequent interactions with the outstanding students, faculty and staff at Weber State. I hope to continue to support them and the citizens of Davis County going forward.”

Hall, chairman of MarketStar and founder of Grow Utah Ventures, has served as a member of the business, honorary degree, and community partnerships and economic development committees since joining the board in 2007. He also chairs the university’s National Advisory Council. Hall was elected vice chair in August 2009.

“I love this institution and look forward to serving in this new capacity,” said Hall, who acknowledged Stevenson’s leadership and commitment as chair.

Beardall, former president and CEO of Anderson Lumber, has served as a member of the board since 2005 and chair of the board’s business committee since 2007. Former Gov. Jon M. Huntsman Jr. re-appointed Beardall to a second term on the board in 2009.

The election of Hall and Beardall was the final order of business for the board, which features two new members: Rex Baxter, the 2010-11 president of the WSU Alumni Association, and Victoria Thompson, 2010-11 student body president.

Baxter, who is associate vice president of investments for Ameriprise Advisor Services Inc., is a 1996 alumnus of Weber State. He and Thompson will serve one-year terms on the board as part of their duties as president of the alumni association and student body, respectively.

Bryan Bowles, Camille Cain, Barney Chapman, Kathryn Lindquist and Steve Starks round out the 10-member board. Gov. Gary Herbert will appoint a new trustee to fill Stevenson’s place on the board.

Visit weber.edu/wsutoday for more news about Weber State University.

Ann Millner, president
801-626-6001 • amillner@weber.edu
John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
801-626-7212 • jkowalewski@weber.edu