Davidson Elected to Chair Board of Trustees

OGDEN, Utah – Thomas Davidson was elected chair of the Weber State University Board of Trustees at its monthly meeting held Tuesday. Trustee Barney Chapman was elected vice-chair.

Davidson succeeds Jane Brewer, whose term as a WSU trustee ended in June. A member of the board since 1999, Davidson was appointed to a second four-year term in 2003. He has chaired the board's Personnel and Academic Policy Committee and serves on the Community Relations Committee, the Executive Committee and the Audit Committee.

Chapman, recently retired Vice President and Chief of Staff for America First Credit Union, joined the board in 2003. He has served as chairman of the board's Community Relations Committee.

The election was the first order of business for the board, which features five new members. The new trustees include Jim Beardall, former president and CEO of Anderson Lumber; Kathryn Lindquist, retired educator and administrator from the University of Utah; Layton City Mayor Jerry Stevenson, owner of J&J Nursery; Rod Southwick, the 2005-06 president of the WSU Alumni Association; and Ryan Starks, 2005-2006 student body president.
Beardall, Lindquist and Stevenson were named to four-year terms by
Governor Jon Huntsman Jr. earlier this year.

Southwick, owner of Planned Outdoor Living, Inc., is a 1971 alumnus of WSU. He and Starks will serve a one-year term on the board as part of their duties as president of the alumni association and student body respectively.

The governor also re-appointed Catherine Ortega to a second four-year term. Mac Christensen and Kathy Petersen round out the 10-member board of trustees.
John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
801-626-7212 · jkowalewski@weber.edu