Professor Receives National Service Award from ADHA

Weber State University dental hygiene professor Stephanie Bossenberger-James is the recipient of the American Dental Hygienist Association's Distinguished Service Award for 2005.

The award recognizes outstanding achievement and dedication to the profession of dental hygiene.

Bossenberger-James, who joined the Weber State faculty in 1992, is chair of the Department of Dental Hygiene. One of the hallmarks of the program is the WSU Dental Hygiene Clinic, located on the Ogden campus. At the clinic, students have an opportunity to apply classroom skills and knowledge by caring for real patients. Since 1977, WSU dental hygiene students have achieved a 99 percent or better pass rate on the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination. Dental hygiene graduates are qualified for the traditional employment setting as dental office clinicians as well as roles in marketing, community health and dental hygiene education.

Bossenberger-James earned an associate's degree in dental hygiene and a bachelor's degree in psychology from WSU. She holds a master's degree in health education from the University of Utah.

 An ADHA member since 1978, Bossenberger-James has served in many capacities within the association.  She served as the president of the Utah Dental Hygienists' Association in 1989, a District X trustee from 1996 to 2000 and is a current member of the finance committee.

Bossenberger-James was honored during the opening ceremonies at ADHA's annual meetings held in Las Vegas on June 22.

ADHA is the largest national organization representing the professional interests of more than 120,000 dental hygienists across the country.  Dental hygienists are preventive oral health professionals, licensed in dental hygiene, who provide educational, clinical and therapeutic services that support total health through the promotion of optimal oral health.  For more information about ADHA, dental hygiene or the link between oral health and general health, visit ADHA at

Contact: Stephanie Bossenberger James, chair dental hygiene, (801) 626-6451,




Stephanie Bossenberger-James, chair dental hygiene
(801) 626-6451 ·

John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 ·