WSU Celebrates 34th Crystal Crest Awards

OGDEN, Utah – The 34th annual Crystal Crest Awards will honor outstanding Weber State University students, faculty and staff in Academy Awards style in the Shepherd Union Ballroom on April 23 at 7 p.m. The event is free, and open to the public.

The ceremony began in 1982 as the crowning awards event of the year. It was designed to include the community and showcase the best the university has to offer in 12 areas, including academics, athletics, teaching, service and personality.

The Crystal Crest evening is a formal affair with top-quality entertainers from both on and off campus. Each of the five finalists in each category will be recognized, and then campus and community leaders will announce the winners. The finalists are closely guarded until the moment of recognition.

“Crystal Crest brings the campus and community together,” said Tara Peris-Caputo, Crystal Crest advisor. “It gives us a chance to celebrate the stellar people of Weber State and their various skills and achievements.” 

Pianist Ling-Yu Lee, the 2014-15 recipient of the Talent of the Year award, said that the recognition meant a lot to her because it was something that, despite her success, never really came from competitions. “It encourages you to want to perform better and perform more when you know somebody is recognizing you.”

“I really appreciate that WSU has these annual Crystal Crest awards. I just really like WSU,” Lee laughed, “it has done so much for me. When I was sitting down there during last year’s Crystal Crest, being able to see the people who had donated to scholarships and helped me with my education was really meaningful to me.”

Country-music legend Tanya Tucker entertained the crowd during Crystal Crest’s inaugural year. This year’s masters of ceremonies are Tim Border, a respected motivational speaker, business consultant and WSU professional sales professor, and Student Body President Cash Knight. Lee will also perform during the awards.

For more information about Crystal Crest, visit


Tara Peris-Caputo, Student Involvement and Leadership assistant director
801-626-7334 •


Ivonne Dabb, marketing specialist
801-626-7439 •