Professor Playwriting Earns National Honor


(ABOVE) Scenes from the WSU production of "Sleepy Hollow," written and directed by WSU performing arts professor Jim Christian.

Weber State University Department of Performing Arts students and faculty received awards for their accomplishments at the recent Region VIII American College Theater Festival (ACTF) Conference held at Dixie State College, in St. George, Utah, Feb. 8-13.

Weber State University performing arts professor Jim Christian (book and lyrics) and Tom Edward Clark (music) received the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Musical Theater Playwriting Award for “Sleepy Hollow.”

The playwriting award has a cash prize of $4,000, which includes $1,000 to WSU for its support of the project. Christian and Clark will be the guests of the National American College Theater Festival held at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., April 13-17. 

The awards program will be held on April 17.  Student Angela Jeffries also has been invited to attend and sing the song “Vanished” from “Sleepy Hollow.”

Christian and Clark also are the recipients of fellowships to attend the Eugene O’Neill Playwrights Conference in Waterford, Conn., this summer.

At the Region VIII event, WSU student David Powell was recognized for Outstanding Craft Project for his work with “Sleepy Hollow.”

Tiaro Puro received the Region VIII Design Award for Makeup Design for WSU’s production of “Peter Pan.”

Started in 1969, the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) is a national theater program involving 18,000 students from colleges and universities nationwide. The KCACTF has grown into a network of more than 600 academic institutions throughout the country, where theater departments and student artists showcase their work and receive outside assessment by KCACTF respondents.

Through state, regional and national festivals, KCACTF participants celebrate the creative process, see one another’s work, and share experiences and insights within the community of theater artists. The KCACTF honors excellence of overall production and offers student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing and design.

Visit for more news about Weber State University.



Jim Christian, performing arts professor
801-626-6992 •


Caril Jennings, marketing director Department of Performing Arts
801-626-6431 •