Online Education Pioneer and Retired Administrator Honored with 2006 Dixon Award

OGDEN, Utah – A telecommunications professor emerita who helped pioneer online curriculum, and a long-time administrator known for his problem-solving skills are the recipients of Weber State University’s 2006 H. Aldous Dixon Awards.

Professor emerita Margaret O. Bennett and retired administrator Craige Hall will be formally honored at a luncheon hosted by the WSU Alumni Association, March 22 at noon in the Shepherd Union Ballroom.

Bennett was instrumental in leading WSU into a more technologically advanced curriculum. She and the telecommunications department developed some of the first online courses offered at WSU, to better meet the needs of students at a time when computer technology was dramatically transforming business and industry.

Bennett served as a professor of business education from 1969-1990 and a professor of telecommunications from 1991-1999. She served as a department chair from 1974-1982 and again from 1987-1999. Her administrative duties included stints as acting associate vice president of academic affairs in 1990 and acting dean of the College of Applied Science and Technology in 1997.

Bennett was honored with the Spirit of the American Woman in Administrative Education Award from Your Community Connection in 1990. She was named Utah business teacher of the year and Utah outstanding vocational teacher of the year in 1992.

Craige Hall’s talent, ability and dedication were utilized in a variety of roles throughout a 35-year career at WSU.

Initially hired in 1968 as a librarian and an assistant professor of library sciences, he went on to become the director of the Stewart Library. His duties were later expanded to include director of computing services and telecommunications. In 1991, he took on the role of associate vice president for Administrative Services, acting as lead administrator for WSU athletics, facilities management, public safety, mail services and the Dee Events Center. During his tenure, Hall also served as interim director of facilities management and interim director of the WSU bookstore.

Hall was regularly called upon to step into challenging situations and fix problems. His ability to successfully tackle these projects made him an invaluable asset to WSU.
Away from campus, Hall served in important community positions including Weber County Historical Society president (1977-1979), Utah Library Association president (1983-1984) and Weber County Library Board president (1998-2000). Starting in 1972, Hall served on the Weber State Credit Union Board for more than 30 years, chairing the board for many of those years.

Named in memory of the former Weber College president, the H. Aldous Dixon Awards have been presented annually since 1970 to honor WSU faculty and staff members who have demonstrated careers of excellence and gone above and beyond the call of duty to support students. The 2006 ceremony marks the first time two awards will be presented honoring both one faculty and one staff member in the same year. Dixon served as president of Weber College from 1919 to 1920, and again from 1937 to 1953.

The public is welcome to attend the luncheon. Tickets are $15 and may be purchased online at or by calling the Lindquist Alumni Center at (801) 626-7535 by March 17.

Lynell Gardner, Alumni Relations director

(801) 626-7535 ·
Jonathan McBride, office of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 •

H. Aldous Dixon
Award Winners

1970- Dello G. Dayton
1971- Reed K. Swenson
1972- Robert A. Clarke
1973- Farrell R. Collett
1974- Walter R. Buss
1975- James R. Foulger
1976- Caseel D. Burke
1977- Merlon L. Stevenson
1978- Leland H. Monson
1979- Clair W. Johnson
1980- Orson Whitney Young
1981- Milton C. Mecham
1982- Dean W. Hurst
1983- Jean T. Kunz
1984- Lawrence C. Evans
1984- Jennings G. Olson
1985- Ruth S. Swenson
1986- Eva R. Browning
1987- Jerald T. Storey
1988- Leola L. Davidson
1989- Daniel L. Martino
1990- Robert H. De Boer
1991- Robert B. Smith
1992- LaVon B. Carroll
1993- Reed M. Stringham Jr.
1994- David S. Arslanian
1995- Thomas R. Burton
1996- Craig J. Oberg
1997- C. Dan Litchford, Jr.
1998- Richard C. Roberts
1999- Geraldine L. Hansen
2000- Helen J. James
2001- Kathleen M. Lukken
2002- Candadai Seshachari
2003- Allen F. Simkins
2004- Rosemary Conover
2005- Roydon O. Julander
2006- Margaret Bennett
         Craige Hall

2007- Gary R. Dohrer
         K. Stan Greenhalgh
2008- Marie L. Kotter
         John H. Knight

2009- Richard W. Sadler
         Don E. Spainhower

2010- Eugene G. Bozniak
         Ben Read