Millner Announces Plans to Step Down

OGDEN, Utah – F. Ann Millner announced Friday that she plans to step down as president of Weber State University.

Speaking with faculty and staff at a meeting Friday afternoon, Millner said she has asked the Board of Regents to begin a search to find her successor. 

Millner plans to continue in her role until a new president is selected and ready to take the helm. 

“When I accepted the position in 2002, I told myself I would serve for eight to 10 years,” Millner said. “This October would be my 10-year anniversary. It’s been an incredible experience, but it’s time for someone else to lead this institution forward.”  

Millner was named the 11th president and 18th person to lead Weber State University in August 2002. At the time, she was the first woman to lead a Utah public university. 

During her tenure, WSU experienced nearly a 40 percent increase in enrollment growth. The university also emerged as a national leader in undergraduate research and community-based learning. In 2008, WSU received the Carnegie Classification for Community Engagement. 
F. Ann Millner (click the photo to download a high res version for web or print)

Working closely with state and local lawmakers, as well as private donors, Millner has helped spearhead several infrastructure projects that have improved educational resources for students, faculty and staff. The first building at Weber State University Davis in Layton, Utah, opened in 2003. Funding for a second building was approved in 2011. 

In the past decade the Ogden campus has renovated and revitalized several facilities, including Lampros Hall, Shepherd Union, Stewart Library and the Swenson Building. The campus also celebrated the construction of Elizabeth Hall, the Hurst Center and the first two buildings of the new Wildcat Village residence hall complex.

View an overview of milestones at WSU from 2002-2012.

President Millner's message to campus

Visit for more news about Weber State University.
Ann Millner, president
801-626-6001 •

Michael Vaughan, provost

Norm Tarbox, vice president for administrative services


John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
801-626-7212 •