Beloved Administrator, Colleague Honored for Contributions

OGDEN, Utah – “Straight shooter” is a term that friends and associates often use to describe Allen F. Simkins. That attribute has served him well and earned him great respect personally and professionally.

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to Weber State University, Simkins will receive the 2003 H. Aldous Dixon Award at a luncheon to be held in his honor on Friday, March 7, at noon in the Shepherd Union Ballroom.

Simkins was hired as an associate professor and chairman of the Department of Accounting and Information Systems at Weber State College in 1976. During the next 25 years, he went on to serve as Dean of the School of Business & Economics, interim President of WSC, and Vice President for Administrative Services, a position he held from 1987 until his retirement in 2002. 

As dean, he helped establish the Master of Professional Accountancy at Weber State. He worked tirelessly as vice president to help the institution achieve university status. His stewardship was instrumental in the creation of several new facilities, including University Village student housing, Stewart Stadium skyboxes and the new WSU-Davis campus. In all his efforts, he focused on providing a quality education for students and creating opportunities for staff to achieve their highest potential.

Away from campus, Simkins has served on numerous community boards in the Ogden area. An avid golfer, he currently serves as director of the Utah Golf Association. His straight shooting on the links helped him win the UGA’s Senior Amateur Tournament in 2001.

In nominating Simkins for the award, WSU athletic director John Johnson credited Simkins with guiding WSU through “the turbulent waters of higher education with character, grace and undying resolve. He has made a positive impact on many lives during his tenure and Weber State University is a better place because of him.”

  Since 1970, the Dixon Award has been presented annually to a member of the WSU faculty or staff who has sought to meet the needs of students and has achieved a meaningful measure of excellence in his or her career.  H. Aldous Dixon served as president of Weber College from 1919 to 1920, and again from 1937 to 1953.
Gary Toyn, associate director of Alumni Relations
 (801) 626-7536 •
John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 ·

H. Aldous Dixon
Award Winners

1970- Dello G. Dayton
1971- Reed K. Swenson
1972- Robert A. Clarke
1973- Farrell R. Collett
1974- Walter R. Buss
1975- James R. Foulger
1976- Caseel D. Burke
1977- Merlon L. Stevenson
1978- Leland H. Monson
1979- Clair W. Johnson
1980- Orson Whitney Young
1981- Milton C. Mecham
1982- Dean W. Hurst
1983- Jean T. Kunz
1984- Lawrence C. Evans
1984- Jennings G. Olson
1985- Ruth S. Swenson
1986- Eva R. Browning
1987- Jerald T. Storey
1988- Leola L. Davidson
1989- Daniel L. Martino
1990- Robert H. De Boer
1991- Robert B. Smith
1992- LaVon B. Carroll
1993- Reed M. Stringham Jr.
1994- David S. Arslanian
1995- Thomas R. Burton
1996- Craig J. Oberg
1997- C. Dan Litchford, Jr.
1998- Richard C. Roberts
1999- Geraldine L. Hansen
2000- Helen J. James
2001- Kathleen M. Lukken
2002- Candadai Seshachari
2003- Allen F. Simkins
2004- Rosemary Conover
2005- Roydon O. Julander
2006- Margaret Bennett
         Craige Hall

2007- Gary R. Dohrer
         K. Stan Greenhalgh
2008- Marie L. Kotter
         John H. Knight

2009- Richard W. Sadler
         Don E. Spainhower

2010- Eugene G. Bozniak
         Ben Read