Professor Honored for Contributions to Students, Campus and Community

OGDEN, Utah – Rosemary Conover, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology & Anthropology, has been named the 2004 H. Aldous Dixon Award winner in recognition of her outstanding contributions to Weber State University.

The award will be formally presented to Conover at a luncheon in her honor at noon March 8 in the Shepherd Union Ballroom.

Since joining the Weber State University anthropology faculty in 1970, Conover has earned the respect and affection of students, colleagues and the community through her leadership, collegiality and intense dedication to teaching.

She has taught more than 24 different courses to nearly 20,000 students, emphasizing active learning that encourages students to comprehend concepts rather than merely memorize facts.

Conover has chaired the Department of Sociology & Anthropology since 1994. She has been instrumental in designing and implementing several new degree programs on campus, including a bachelor’s degree in anthropology in 2000.

As a scholar, she has pursued research in biological anthropology and linguistics. She has made presentations and published on such diverse topics as human growth and development, gender roles, human biological variation and sociolinguistics. She has shared her expertise with the community, serving as a consultant to the WSU Crime Lab and Ogden Police Department, providing preliminary forensics diagnostics on more than 200 cases in the last 30 years.

Since 1970, the Dixon Award has been presented annually to a member of the WSU faculty or staff who has sought to meet the needs of students and has achieved a meaningful measure of excellence in his or her career.  H. Aldous Dixon served as president of Weber College from 1919 to 1920, and again from 1937 to 1953.

The public is welcome to attend the luncheon. Tickets are $12 each and may be purchased online at or by calling the alumni center at 801-626-7535 by March 3.


Gary Toyn, associate director of Alumni Relations
801-626-7536 •

Rosemary Conover, professor & chair Sociology & Anthropology
801-626-6641 •


John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
801-626-7212 ·

H. Aldous Dixon
Award Winners

1970- Dello G. Dayton
1971- Reed K. Swenson
1972- Robert A. Clarke
1973- Farrell R. Collett
1974- Walter R. Buss
1975- James R. Foulger
1976- Caseel D. Burke
1977- Merlon L. Stevenson
1978- Leland H. Monson
1979- Clair W. Johnson
1980- Orson Whitney Young
1981- Milton C. Mecham
1982- Dean W. Hurst
1983- Jean T. Kunz
1984- Lawrence C. Evans
1984- Jennings G. Olson
1985- Ruth S. Swenson
1986- Eva R. Browning
1987- Jerald T. Storey
1988- Leola L. Davidson
1989- Daniel L. Martino
1990- Robert H. De Boer
1991- Robert B. Smith
1992- LaVon B. Carroll
1993- Reed M. Stringham Jr.
1994- David S. Arslanian
1995- Thomas R. Burton
1996- Craig J. Oberg
1997- C. Dan Litchford, Jr.
1998- Richard C. Roberts
1999- Geraldine L. Hansen
2000- Helen J. James
2001- Kathleen M. Lukken
2002- Candadai Seshachari
2003- Allen F. Simkins
2004- Rosemary Conover
2005- Roydon O. Julander
2006- Margaret Bennett
         Craige Hall

2007- Gary R. Dohrer
         K. Stan Greenhalgh
2008- Marie L. Kotter
         John H. Knight

2009- Richard W. Sadler
         Don E. Spainhower

2010- Eugene G. Bozniak
         Ben Read