WSU Set to Host Second Annual Faculty Forum

OGDEN, Utah – Weber State University will host the Second Annual Faculty Forum: A Celebration of Scholarship and Creative Activities, March 2 from 11 a.m.-2 p.m. in the Shepherd Union Building.

The event will feature poster, paper and performance presentations by 50 WSU faculty members representing all seven academic colleges and the Stewart Library.

This year’s forum also will provide an opportunity to showcase the talent and creativity of performing arts faculty, including WSU music professors who will perform Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in A minor, Opus 13.

“Our faculty are engaged in some incredible scholarship, but all too often they travel to conferences to present their research while their colleagues on campus are unaware of it,” said associate history professor Susan Matt, chair of the Faculty Senate Research, Scholarship & Professional Growth (RSPG) Committee that helped organize the forum.

The RSPG committee and the Teaching, Learning & Assessment (TLA) Committee, chaired by associate professor of teacher education Fran Butler, organized the forum to recognize faculty scholarship on campus.

The forum presentations are open to faculty, staff, students and the general public.

“It's wonderful for our students to see faculty as active researchers, bringing discoveries and new-found knowledge into the classroom,” Butler said. Matt said the event allows faculty to network across disciplines, which might lead to future collaborations on similar topics of interest.

“We want the community to come and take part in this event,” said Butler. “There is a lot of great research being done by our faculty that all too often goes unnoticed.”

 A list of forum presenters, topics, and presentation times and locations is available at

Visit for more news about Weber State University.

Fran Butler, chair, Teaching, Learning & Assessment Committee
(801) 626-7658 ·

Susan Matt
, chair, Research, Scholarship & Professional Growth Committee
(801) 626-7325 ·

John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 •