Theatre Arts Students Honored at Regional Festival

(ABOVE:) The three witches in WSU's production of "MacBeth" display some of the hair and makeup design from the show. WSU theatre arts major Kathryn Martinez was selected as the Region VIII design winner for her makeup and hair design for WSU's production of "Macbeth."  (Photo courtesy of WSU's Department of Performing Arts.)

OGDEN, Utah – Two Weber State University students pursuing degrees in theatre arts were honored at the Region VIII Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) held Feb. 12-17 in Cedar City.

Senior Kathryn Martinez, of Ogden, was selected as the regional design winner for her makeup and hair design for WSU’s production of “Macbeth.” She will advance to the national festival held in Washington, D.C., in April and exhibit her work with other regional winners in competition for the Mehron Awards for Excellence in Makeup Design.

Junior Melody Brocious, from Clearfield, received honorable mention for her costume design for WSU’s production of “Utter Glory of Morrissey Hall.” The results were announced at an awards presentation held Saturday evening.

As the regional winner Martinez will receive more than $100 worth of products from Mehron, a makeup design company.  The Mehron makeup national winner will be selected from regional finalists by a judge from the Mehron Company during the April festival.

This marks the second year in a row that a WSU theatre arts student has advanced to the national festival. In 2006, Cliff Wallgren was recognized for outstanding lighting design at the Region VIII festival.

The Region VIII KCACTF includes colleges and universities from Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada and Utah.

Started in 1969 by Roger L. Stevens, the Kennedy Center’s founding chairman, KCACTF is a national theater program involving 18,000 students from colleges and universities nationwide that has served as a catalyst in improving the quality of college theater in the United States. The KCACTF has grown into a network of more than 600 academic institutions throughout the country, where theater departments and student artists showcase their work and receive outside assessment by KCACTF judges. The KCACTF honors excellence of overall production and offers student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing and design.

Visit for more news about Weber State University.

John Kowalewski, director of Media Relations
(801) 626-7212 •

Catherine Zublin, theatre arts professor

(801) 626-6661 ·