Retired Political Science Professor Honored with Dixon Award

OGDEN, Utah – Weber State University professor emeritus, Rod O. Julander, has been named the school's 2005 H. Aldous Dixon Award winner. The WSU Alumni Association will hold an award luncheon in his honor March 4 at noon in the Shepherd Union Ballroom.

Julander, who officially retired in 2003 though he continues to teach three courses each year, began his teaching career in 1960 at then Weber College in philosophy and political science. During his time at WSU, Julander stayed active politically serving as a senator in the Utah legislature, vice-chair of the Utah Democratic Party, member of the Ogden Transition Team, and co-chair of the Utah State Board of Family Services. He also won the Crystal Crest Professor of the Year Award in 1995, and the WSU Master Teacher Award in 1997.

Named in memory of the former Weber College president, the H. Aldous Dixon Award has been awarded annually since 1970 to honor a WSU professor or staff member who has demonstrated a career of excellence by going above and beyond the call of duty to support students. Dixon served as president of Weber College from 1919 to 1920, and again from 1937 to 1953.

The public is welcome to attend the luncheon. Tickets are $12 each and may be purchased online at or by calling the Lindquist Alumni Center at (801) 626-7535 by Feb. 28.

Lynell Gardner, director of Alumni Relations
(801) 626-6569 ·

Rod Julander, retired WSU professor
(801) 363-0868


Travis Clemens, office of Media Relations
(801) 626-7948 ·

H. Aldous Dixon
Award Winners

1970- Dello G. Dayton
1971- Reed K. Swenson
1972- Robert A. Clarke
1973- Farrell R. Collett
1974- Walter R. Buss
1975- James R. Foulger
1976- Caseel D. Burke
1977- Merlon L. Stevenson
1978- Leland H. Monson
1979- Clair W. Johnson
1980- Orson Whitney Young
1981- Milton C. Mecham
1982- Dean W. Hurst
1983- Jean T. Kunz
1984- Lawrence C. Evans
1984- Jennings G. Olson
1985- Ruth S. Swenson
1986- Eva R. Browning
1987- Jerald T. Storey
1988- Leola L. Davidson
1989- Daniel L. Martino
1990- Robert H. De Boer
1991- Robert B. Smith
1992- LaVon B. Carroll
1993- Reed M. Stringham Jr.
1994- David S. Arslanian
1995- Thomas R. Burton
1996- Craig J. Oberg
1997- C. Dan Litchford, Jr.
1998- Richard C. Roberts
1999- Geraldine L. Hansen
2000- Helen J. James
2001- Kathleen M. Lukken
2002- Candadai Seshachari
2003- Allen F. Simkins
2004- Rosemary Conover
2005- Roydon O. Julander
2006- Margaret Bennett
         Craige Hall

2007- Gary R. Dohrer
         K. Stan Greenhalgh
2008- Marie L. Kotter
         John H. Knight

2009- Richard W. Sadler
         Don E. Spainhower

2010- Eugene G. Bozniak
         Ben Read