Coach Taylor Receives 2005 Athena Award

Weber State University Women’s Basketball Coach Carla Taylor has been named the recipient of the 2005 ATHENA® Award, a national award program presented by the Women in Business committee of the Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce.


The award will be presented to Taylor at the 17th Annual ATHENA® Award luncheon, which will be held at the Timbermine Restaurant in Ogden on Jan. 11. Taylor will also be honored at the Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce Annual Dinner on Jan. 27.  The luncheon keynote speaker will be the 2004 ATHENA® Award recipient, Jo Packham.


The ATHENA® Award is presented each year to one who has attained and personified the highest level of professional excellence in their business or profession, has devoted time and energy to the community in a meaningful way, and most especially, has generously assisted women in attaining their full potential. 


Taylor, or “CT” as she is known to Wildcat fans, enters her 17th season as Weber State Women's Basketball Head Coach.  Taylor has the second-most wins among coaches in Big Sky history and has produced 19 All-Big Sky First Team selections and four District 7 Kodak All-Americans. Taylor guided the Wildcats to their first-ever Big Sky Conference Championship and NCAA appearance in 2002.  In 2003, the Wildcats repeated the feat and became only the second team in Big Sky Conference history to be back-to-back conference champions. Taylor has been a cornerstone of Wildcat Women's Basketball for more than 20 years.


Taylor first starred at WSU as a player from 1980-1984. Following stints as a high school and assistant college coach, she was hired in 1988 as one of the youngest head coaches in Division I at the age of 26.


As impressive as the Wildcats has been on the court, they have been equally impressive off of it. The last six years, the team has been named to the WBCA Honor Roll of Top 25 Academic Teams.  Overall, Taylor has produced 99 Big Sky Academic All-Conference selections.


Away from the basketball court, Taylor has been involved with the Utah Girls and Sports Network, served as a basketball clinician throughout the Northwest, and is actively involved in community speaking engagements.  She also developed a women's basketball advisory committee made up of local women business owners and WSU community supporters who meet each week and talk about new and innovative ideas to help promote women's basketball.  Taylor helps sponsor many different causes such as: "Coaches versus Cancer," Red Ribbon Week, Children's Read to Achieve programs. She serves on several prestigious committees within her profession such as the NCAA All-American Committee, Conference Captain Committee, and District VII Regional Voting Committee.


Taylor involves her players in many different activities, taking them to local elementary and middle schools to talk about working hard, achieving good grades and setting goals. The players also offer the students basic basketball instruction. 


 A native of North Powder, Oregon, Taylor received her bachelor's degree in physical education with minors in health and history from WSU in 1984.


Launched in 1982 through the Lansing, Michigan Chamber of Commerce, the ATHENA® Award program spotlights outstanding individuals in the community who inspire, motivate, and mentor women. Administered today through the non-profit ATHENA Foundation, the ATHENA® Award has expanded to over 350 U.S. cities and abroad to Russia, Canada and China.  This program has recognized more than 2,000 women and men for their business and community service accomplishments.  Each ATHENA recipient is invited to join other recipients throughout the United States and beyond to create new leadership programs and bring ideas back home.


Past recipients of the ATHENA® Award include Jo Packham (2004), Brenda Jensen (2003), Flora Ogan (2002), Lynnda Wangsgard (2001), Shelleice Stokes (2000), Leanne Shay, (1999), Vickie McCall (1998), Holly Bauman (1997), Adele Smith (1996), Sandra Hansen (1995), Yvonne Phillips, (1994), Jane Marquardt (1993), Ann Millner (1992), Gaye Littleton (1991), Marilyn Woodbury (1990), and Barbara Ann Vessels (1989).


For more information about the ATHENA® Award program visit  ATHENA luncheon tickets may be purchased by contacting the Ogden/Weber Chamber at 801-621-8300.

Stephanie Craghead, ATHENA Chair

(801) 693-2616


Stephanie Craghead, ATHENA Chair

(801) 693-2616