Faculty and Staff

Looking for an advisor?
Check the Department of Performing Arts advisor list.

Dance Faculty

 

Name

Contact Information

Areas of Interest

 

Joanne L. Lawrence, MFA

Professor, Dance Program Director

801-626-6479

jlawrence@weber.edu

Dance performance, choreography, teacher education; dance anthropology/ethnology; dance therapy; Dance for the Camera; stage combat/fight choreography; dance history, theory, criticism.

 

Amanda Sowerby, MFA

Associate Professor

801-626-7674

asowerby@weber.edu

Dance Education, Dance Therapy, Technique, Performance, Dance Kinesiology and Dance for the Camera.

 

Erik Stern, MFA

Professor

801-626-6615

estern@weber.edu

Choreography, cross-curricular education, performance.

Music Faculty

 

Name

Contact Information

Areas of Interest


 
   
Karen Brookens DMA

Professor of Music, Head of Vocal Performance and Vocal Pedagogy


801-626-6439

kbrookens@weber.edu


Singing chamber music and music composed in the twentieth century, researching and teaching vocal pedagogy and vocal literature. Stage director ofopera.
   
Carey Campbell, PhD

Assistant Professor

 

 

801- 626-6790

careycampbell@weber.edu

18th-Century Instrumental Music, Popular Music, Music and Cultural Theory, and the development of listening skills for non-musicians.

 

David E. Feller, DMA

Professor

801-626-6436

dfeller@weber.edu

Solo & chamber performance (CD currently in progress), research, patented an invention of a device that measures lip pressure on single-reed instruments.
 

Mark Henderson, DMA

Professor, Director of Choral Studies

801-626-6448

mhenderson@weber.edu

Weber State Choirs

Composition, interdisciplinary arts; integral philosophy; teaches creativity in the Honors College; pathologically curious.
    Shannon B. Roberts, PhD

Assistant Professor

801-626-7073

shannonroberts@weber.edu
Wildcat Marching Band, Jazz Band, Music Theory, 
Pep Band, Friday Master Classes, Composing, Performing,
Conducting, Music Education.

 

Thomas Priest, MM, EdD

Professor, Director of Music Education, Department Chair

801-626-7181

tpriest@weber.edu

 

Creative and critical thinking in music learning environments, learning modalities, computer-assisted instruction, early childhood, teacher education and bassoon.

 

Thomas R. Root, PhD

Professor, Director of Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band

801-626-6443

troot@weber.edu

Has 22 published compositions with four publishers for band,
chamber ensemble and orchestra. Compositions performed in America, Japan, Australia and Europe.
 

Viktor Uzur, DMA

Associate Professor

801-626-6441

viktoruzur@weber.edu

Viktor Uzur

Cello Performance, Chamber Music, Artistic Director Bonneville Chamber Music Festival www.weber.edu/bcmf

 
Ralph van der Beek DMA

Associate Professor, Director WSU Piano Festival

801-626-6825

RalphVanderbeek@weber.edu

 

 

Piano Performance and Pedagogy, Vocal Coaching, Chamber Music, Composition, Theory and Ear Training

 

Shi-Hwa Wang, DMA

Professor

801-626-6929

swang@weber.edu

Violin Performance, Lessons, Ear-training, String Pedagogy, Chamber Music, Orchestral Literature

 

Yu-Jane Yang, PhD

Professor

Director of Keyboard Studies,
Director of WSU Piano Preparatory Program

801-626-7489

yyang@weber.edu

Piano performance and chamber music, piano accompanying, piano pedagogy, research on piano teaching and teaching literature, music technology, and piano teacher training.

Theatre Faculty

 

Name

Contact Information

Areas of Interest

 

John J. Bizzell, MFA

Technical Director

801-626-7191

jbizzell@weber.edu

Scenery, lighting, equipment.

 

Tracy Callahan, MFA

Professor

801-626-7886

tcallahan@weber.edu

Contemporary Irish theatre: studied in Ireland on a grant from Oklahoma State University. Accessible Shakespeare: grant to initiate class with English majors and theatre majors at OSU. Spent three months studying in Ireland.

 

James C. Christian, MFA

Professor, Director of Musical Theatre Studies

801-626-6992

jchristian@weber.edu

Playwriting.
 

Van Tinkham, MFA

Professor

801-626-6435

vtinkham@weber.edu

Scenic and lighting design, American theatre history.
 

    

 

Catherine Zublin, MFA

Professor

801-626-6661

czublin@weber.edu

Costume design, costume history, stage makeup.
 
 
 

 

Jennifer Kokai

 

 

 801-626-6624

jenniferkokai@weber.edu

Theatre Education/
History/Playwriting
    Jessica 
Greenberg


 
 801-626-6542

jessicagreenberg@weber.edu
Lighting and Sound Design

Department Staff

 

Name

Contact Information

Area

 

Georgene Ady

Secretary

801-626-6437

gady@weber.edu

Department of Performing Arts office.

 

Christie Denniston

Marketing Director

801-626-6431

cdenniston@weber.edu

Marketing

 

Mark D. Maxson

801-626-7802

mmaxson@weber.edu

faculty.weber.edu/mmaxson

Multimedia Specialist /
Adjunct Music Faculty (guitar)
Digidesign Sponsored School, Pro Tools 101/110
Music Technology,
DPA Computer Lab,
Mac addict.

 

 

Melissa Chauvet

Budget Specialist

801-626-6430

melissachauvet@weber.edu

Department of Performing Arts office.
   

Jean-Louise England

Costume Studio Manager

801-626-7768

jeanengland@weber.edu



Costume Studio

  

  Heidi Robinson


Department
Assistant
 801-626-6437

heidirobinson2@weber.edu
 Department of Performing Arts Office Assistant

Weber State UniversityOgden, Utah 84408

Privacy PolicyTerms of UseNondiscrimination Policy