July 11, 2013 - Thematic Transformations

The finale of the 2013 SMF International Artist Concert Series ends with two glorious chamber works. Though written in very different styles and moods, both capture the richness of the string sonorities, and elevate the power of chamber music.

Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

I. Prelude: Lento
II. Fugue: Adagio
III. Scherzo: Allegretto
IV. Intermezzo: Lento
V. Finale: Allegretto

Florin Parvulescu, violin
Rudy Kremer, violin
Aaron Janse, viola
Andrey Tchekmazov, cello
Peter Mack, piano


String Sextet op. 18 in B flat major, Op. 18

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

I. Allegro man non troppo
II. Andante, ma moderator
III. Scherzo: Allegro molto
IV. Rondo: Poco Allegretto e grazioso

Alexander Barantschick, violin
Chen Zhao, violin
Uri Wasserzug, viola
Shi-Hwa Wang, viola
Greg Sauer, cello
Eugena Chang, cello

2013 SMF International Artist Concert Series
Concert 3
July 11, 2013
Allred Auditorium
Val A. Browning Center for the Performing Arts
7:30 pm
FREE (please no children under the age of 8)

Weber State UniversityOgden, Utah 84408

Privacy PolicyTerms of UseNondiscrimination Policy