Chemistry Scholarships

Chemistry Faculty Scholarship Endowment

The Chemistry Faculty Scholarship is the brainchild of Dr. Helen James Lundak, who was the first female faculty member in the College of Science. Dr. James Lundak taught chemistry for 29 years at WSU. She received her bachelor's degree and doctorate in chemistry from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In 1984 she established the Chemistry Faculty Scholarship, an endowed fund she continues to donate to annually. Dr. James Lundak served as interim dean of the College of Science and chair of the Chemistry Department. She was a Presidential Distinguished Professor and an Honorary Degree recipient. She also received the university's H. Aldous Dixon Award, Lowe Teaching Award and the Spencer L. Seager Science Teaching Award. Dr. James Lundak’s philanthropic example has inspired former students and colleagues to donate to this and other scholarships, or establish other funds, within the College of Science.

Yong Ok Lee Hamrick Scholarship

The Yong Ok Lee Hamrick Scholarship was established in the 1980s. Mrs. Hamrick devoted her life to teaching the mentally challenged in the Ogden City Schools. She was born in North Korea and migrated to South Korea as a refugee. She benefitted from generous donations allowing her to pursue an education at Cornell University. She graduated with multiple degrees from Auburn University and Utah State University and was an accomplished linguist, speaking five languages fluently.
At the time of the scholarship’s creation, Mrs. Hamrick wrote, “I have a great respect for the Chemistry Department and its faculty at Weber State College (as it was named at the time). This scholarship has been established because of the excellent education and personal attention my daughter [Yoon Mi Hamrick] received while obtaining her bachelor’s degree at Weber State College while majoring in Chemistry.” Yoon Mi has since gone on to earn a doctoral degree in chemistry from the University of Utah and she works for the Air Force recruiting and hiring scientists and engineers at Hill Air Force Base.

Henry G. Nowak Excellence in Chemistry Scholarship

In 2002, Alan and Jeanne Hall established the Henry G. Nowak Excellence in Chemistry Scholarship to honor Mrs. Hall’s father on the occasion of his 84th birthday. Hank, as he was known, was a brilliant chemist, scientist, engineer, musician and entrepreneur. During World War II he was an executive officer on an LSM in the Pacific. He was a life-long learner and never without a book.
Hank was a Senior Chemical Engineer, Research Chemist and Plant Manager at Dow Chemical. He was the leader of the Polaris Resident Office for Aerojet. He was on board the submarine that fired the first Polaris missile. He was heavily involved in the hydraulic guidance system for the Sidewinder missiles. All of these signified a major contribution to our national defense. He finished his professional career with Hercules and ATK.
A member of the American Chemical Society, Hank had at least one chemical patent and published an article on inorganic synthesis. Most importantly, Hank was an adored husband, father, grandfather and great grandfather. He sacrificed his own time and pleasures to bless the lives of his family members and friends. The family is grateful that a deserving WSU student will extend his legacy in science and love.

Dr. Garth L. Welch Chemistry Scholarship

Established in 2012 by family, friends and former students to honor Dr. Welch’s 75th birthday, the Welch Scholarship will be awarded starting in 2013.
Dr. Welch started his 34-year career at Weber State College in 1964. He became a professor of chemistry eight years later. In 1974, he was appointed as the first Dean of Science, which included all departments in the physical and life sciences. Dr. Welch continued to teach chemistry, even with the additional work of being dean. In 1984, he was named an Associate Vice President for Business and his new responsibilities covered staffing, building and facilities on the campus, and presenting the needs of Weber State to the Board of Regents, the Governor’s staff and the legislature. In this position, he helped with the change to Weber State University. In 1993, Dr. Welch returned to the chemistry classroom to teach full-time until his retirement in 1997.