Utah Campus Compact Outstanding Service Awards

The Utah Campus Compact (UCC) is an organization that promotes service among college students and whose membership consists of the thirteen institutions of higher education in the state of Utah.  Each year, the UCC recognizes the work of outstanding faculty, staff, students, alum, and community partners in the state.  Each of the UCC’s member campuses selects recipients in each of the five award categories listed on the right.  These recipients will be presented with an award from the Utah Campus Compact at the Annual Center for Community Engaged Learning Recognition Event on March 26, 2014.

Community Engaged Scholar

This award recognizes an individual with:

  • Experience in using community engaged or service-learning as a successful pedagogy
  • Innovation in employing reflective strategies to connect students’ service with academics
  • Evidence of academic community engagement through teaching, community-engaged research, or promotion of service-learning on campus or in one’s discipline


Community Engaged Staff Member

This award recognizes a staff member that:

  • Shows leadership in advancing community engagement as a critical component within Weber State
  • Forms innovative campus and community partnerships
  • Engages, models, or influences students to be involved in community service and/or service-learning

Civically Engaged Student

This award recognizes a student or student group that:

  • Demonstrates commitment to building or enhancing campus-based efforts to address community needs
  • Leads, inspires, and engages other students, members of the institution, or community
  • Demonstrates efforts to sustain their work through developing strategies for institutional and community commitment

Committed Community Partner

This award recognizes an individual or organization that:

  • Strengthens community engagement at WSU
  • Provides meaningful service and learning opportunities for students
  • Enhances their agency’s mission/programs/goals by partnering with WSU 

Community Engaged Alum

This award recognizes an alum of Weber State University that:

  • Demonstrates on-going and deep commitment to community engagement
  • Leads, inspires, and engages other members of their community toward positive social change
  • Furthers the community engagement efforts of the institution

Awards Committee
  • Cariey Anson
  • Scott Ball (chair)
  • Maresha Bosgieter
  • Azenett Garza
  • Jake Haslam
  • Brenda Kowalewski
  • Mike Moon
  • Amber Robson
  • Chelsea Roest

The 2014 Utah Campus Compact Award recipients have been selected and please join us in recognizing their dedication to community engagement. Please check back next Fall to learn more about the process for the 2015 Award Cycle.

Previous UCC Award Recipients

2007 UCC Award Recipients

2008 UCC Award Recipients

2009 UCC Award Recipients

2010 UCC Award Recipients

2011 UCC Award Recipients

2012 UCC Award Recipients

2013 UCC Award Recipients

2014 UCC Award Recipients