Annual Automotive Scholarship Contest 1987-2014

The Weber State University Automotive Contest is an annual contest for high school automotive students. Top scoring automotive high school seniors from Utah and the surrounding states come to compete for scholarships, tools, and a vehicle for their school.  The contest was started in 1987, and was coordinated for 17 years (1988-2004) by Rondo Erickson as a recruiting tool for the WSU Automotive Technology Program.

The contest has two parts: a written test and a skills / hands-on portion.

  1. The written test will consist of 50 multiple choice questions that are based on the NATEF MLR tasks. All 8 ASE areas will be represented at the NATEF MLR level. The contest takes approximately three hours. There is an awards ceremony afterwards where the top 12 schools will be invited to return to the hands-on competition.
  2. The Hands on contest features 12 workstations which are limited to the scope of the NATEF MLR standards. The competition lasts nearly 4 hours. There is an awards banquet afterwards.
Contest Rule Book

Qualifying Round: Written Exam
December 4, 2014


Registration Fee: $100.00 Per School

You Can Mail  Your Payment:
Automotive Technology
1465 Edvalson St., Dept. 2404
Ogden, UT 84408

You Can Pay Online:
Select the Auto Tech Competition.

Registration Form

Program Newsletter

Contest Newsletter

Championship Round: Hands-on Challenge
February 12, 2015

Registration Form


Top school will receive a GM vehicle, scan tool, and factory GM service information DVD

WSU Automotive Contest Winners 1987 - 2015

Recent Winners

Former Winners