Founding Board

The WSU Charter Academy Founding Board members have significant relevant experience that will contribute to WSU Charter Academy’s success!

The Founding Board for the Weber State University Charter Academy includes faculty members in the Jerry and Vickie Moyes College of Education from the departments of Child and Family Studies and Teacher Education. Many of these people currently hold a Professional Educator License in the state of Utah as teachers or administrators. Additionally, the board members have expertise in at least one of the following areas: early childhood education, child development, elementary education, special education, English as a second language, family studies, multicultural education, school administration, parental involvement, and budgeting. 

Founding Board Members

 

Jack L. Rasmussen, PhD
Dean and Professor
 
 jrasmussen@weber.edu
Chloe D. Merrill, PhD
Associate Dean
Professor: Child and Family Studies
Director, Packer Center for Family and Community Education
 
 cmerrill@weber.edu
Carol VandenAkker, MS
Administrative Assistant
Business Administrator, WSU Charter Academy
 
 carolvandenakker@weber.edu
Camie Bearden, MEd
Principal, WSU Charter Academy
Assistant Director, Packer Center for Family and Community Education
 
 cbearden@weber.edu
Fran Butler, PhD
Professor: Special Education Methods, Learning Strategies & Content Enhancement, Mathematics Education
 
 fbutler@weber.edu
Claudia Eliason, PhD
Professor:  Reading
 
 celiason@weber.edu 
Carole Haun, MS
Past Director Melba S. Lehner Children's School, Early Childhood Development
(Emeriti)
 
 chaun1@weber.edu
Jared Lisonbee, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Childhood
 
 jaredlisonbee@weber.edu
Jack Mayhew, PhD
Associate Professor: Special Education
 
 jmayhew@weber.edu
Carrie Ota, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Care and Education, Early Childhood    Education, and Child Development
 
 carrieota@weber.edu
Wei Qiu, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Childhood Development
 
 weiqiu@weber.edu
Peggy Saunders, PhD 
MEd Program Director 
Associate Professor: Instructional Strategies and Classroom Management

 
 psaunders@weber.edu
Paul Schvaneveldt, PhD
Department Chair of Child and Family Studies
Professor: Family Studies, Family Literacy, Marriage Education, Latino Families
 
 pschvaneveldt@weber.edu
Sherrie West, MAEd
Assistant Director Melba S. Lehner Children's School
 
 swest@weber.edu
Ray Wong, PhD
Professor Emeriti:  Diversity
 rwong@weber.edu

 
 

 

Kindergarten Sessions

Morning Session

8:45-11:45 Monday-Thursday
8:45-10:45 Friday

Afternoon Session

12:30-3:30 Monday-Thursday
12:30-2:30 Friday


Contact Us

WSU Charter Academy
1305 University Circle
Ogden, UT 84408


Weber State UniversityOgden, Utah 84408

Privacy PolicyTerms of UseNondiscrimination Policy